Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
sensational
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
EASY & EXCELLENT! Even better if put in frig (covered) for two days and reheat before serving. (Gives all the wonderful flavors time to get acquainted!) I served it in warmed bowls with crusty foccacia to dip in the sauce. NO LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I need quick meals and this is really great especially when you are entertaining guests.. you get all the preparation out of the way and then you can enjoy the company. Definite family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
absolutely outstanding. sauce is very fresh tasting. you could win contests with this recipe. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Truly awesome! I would recommend making this when friends come over, because it fills the house with its delicious aroma, making everyone extra hungry! I served with Polenta, and I had extra Polenta and sauce (no meat) because it was that good. Even my 5 year old daughter liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Just had these for dinner. They were wonderful, quick and easy. I do not use wine usually and had a bottle that someone gave me for Christmas. It was great and all the alcohol is cooked out COMPLETELY! Next time, I will just use two cans of chicken broth and beef broth instead of the wine. I don't buy the stuff! Thanks for a great dish! Reminded me of all the home comfort food of my youth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This is a classic dish for many reasons; simplicity, ease of preperation and excellent results that is sure to please. A possible variation that I have found to be excellent is the addition of capers, olives and dried figs. Essentially the same as this recipe with the addtion of apprxoimately 2 tbl spoons of capers, 2 cups of dried figs (halved), and a good handfull of black olives (15-20). Intead of tomatoes (or in addition to), 1/4 cup tomatoe paste that you cook in a moderate pan until it changes to a deep burgondy red, then add the stock and bring to the boil, then add to the casarol dish with the lamb etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
May I just say that this recipe is truly outstanding. Lamb shanks aren't easy to get hold of in the UK but it's well worth the effort of trying to do so - not least because of this particular recipe. I have done it about five times so far for dinner parties - including once for a Masterclass chef who thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm not a very good cook but this works so well that people seem to think I CAN cook! I'm writing this review now because I have guests for dinner tonight and I'm doing it again. I can smell it cooking right now and I've just been thinking that I don't actually want to share the contents of the pot with anyone! I want to eat it all by myself because it is soooo good. Thank you to S. Hodge who gave us this recipe - it's much appreciated. People think I can cook because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I've served this to dinner guests many times and am ALWAYS asked for the recipe. Easy to follow recipe and easy to cook. The very best recipe for lamb shanks I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Yummmmmmy!!! It is really delicious! Instead of using canned chicken and beef broth, I made my own and it turned out excellent. The mashed potato and peas are just perfect on the side. This is a truly magnificent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States