Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Vinnie B
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I used diced tomaotes - may have been a bit too tomato-ie for me. The meat was falling off the bone so tender. Served it with garlic mashed potatoes. A very good recipe - very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My family LOVED this. The best part is that you can serve this whenever you have everything else done and it will still be hot. The only thing I did differently was to take the lid off at 1.5 hours so the broth would boil down to more of a gravy. Absolutely fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this the first time i cooked lamb and for once i liked lamb! No gaminess at all! It was heavenly tender. I could cut it into the garlicky mashed potates with a spoon! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyjenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made these today. I was actually sick, so I propped my laptop open and had my husband do it. He followed the recipe exactly (halved, we did 3 shanks), and it was very good. If I had made it, I would have added more rosemary and thyme, and more spices to the sauce. Next time I will also add mushrooms. The meat was 'fall off the bone" goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Def a husband pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea.jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I loved this recipe. I had to substitute beer for the wine as I only had white wine in the house and didn't think it would suit lamb. I cannot wait to try it again with the wine. I also only used beef broth as I felt it would give a bit of extra body to the beer base versus using both chicken and beef. I can tell that the recipe as written will also be fabulous. My husband who is fussing about his lamb loved this too. I served with fresh baked rolls to sop up the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My husband really loved this and I really enjoyed making it but I was disappointed in it really... I felt like it wasted an expensive cut of meat... If I wanted pull apart meat I would use something cheap. Lamb Shanks/Chops should be red in my opinion. But the husband really liked it so it may have been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Wakely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'll have to taste the leftovers tomorrow but everyone seemed to like it. Even my sister, who doesn't eat lamb, really liked it. Served with Cheesy Polenta, Sugar Snap Peas, mashed potatoes, and my own creation of broccoli with lemon, pine nuts, and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
De-------liscious! Loved this! The bride and kids also enjoyed it; it was definitely worth the added price of good lamb. The meat was heavenly tender and the aroma, yowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONPROSSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I agree with another's comments about being patient and waiting for the sauce to reduce at the end. It is worth the wait for it to boil down and thicken without adding any flour or cornstarch. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States