Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I doubled this recipe for our family Christmas dinner. I modified it by doubling the garlic and rosemary, and by adding a layer of shredded Gruyer (sp?) cheese between top and bottom layers of potatoes, then the parmesean on top. In order to be sure the potatoes were sliced consistently thin I used an inexpensive mandolin slicer set on the thinnest setting. Everything turned out terrific. Rich, creamy, cheesy, and very 'special occasion'feeling. The leftovers stored and heated well over several days, also. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Ok...OMG! This is a great recipe. I added on it a little due to the reviews about it being bland. I made it per directions (subbing 1 cup of fat free half & half instead of 2 full fat), then I layed half of the potatoes out, sprinkled 1/3 cup parmesan, and 1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese. Layered the rest of the potatoes, and topped with the other 1/3 cup parmesan, and more goat cheese. Also, I cooked them for what it said, but at 400 (because that is what my meatloaf was cooking at), and it was fine. My husband thought these were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was an excellent dish. I made two small changes; I added about a tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes with the other seasonings, and I topped with grated cheese in addition to the parmesan. Very very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great expectations for this recipe resulted in great disappointment. Hubby said it best with "these taste like rosemary flavored moosh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wow, these were really wonderful. I used more fresh rosemary than stated and used fat-free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this last night for the first time, with steak and vegetables. They are absolutely delicious, and very easy to make. I substituted fat-free half & half and it didn't change a thing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
A delicious version of au gratin potatoes. Goes well with a pork roast. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was disappointing. The roux that you make with the butter, flour, and cream does not compliment the potatoes. It becomes a little mushy after cooking. I used yukon gold potatoes which I normally use for scalloped potatoes and there was little flavor even with fresh garlic and I doubled the rosemary and cheese. If I were to attempt it again, I would leave out the roux process and instead use pats of butter between the layer of potatoes. I would also lightly season each layer w/ S&P, and cheese. The half and half can be poured over top.I think it has potential,but it just okay as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
oh my gosh, everyone loved it, finished the whole pan.. not hard to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This dish was amazing. Literally, my family & I were jokingly calling them "crack potatoes"!! I followed the recipe exactly until just before baking. I used a large glass pan & when I put the potato mixture in the dish I topped them with parmesan cheese (quite a bit), crumbled goat cheese (4 oz), cooked crumbled bacon pieces & more fresh rosemary. I cooked them at 350 for 50 minutes & they came out wonderful! Not a bite left after Easter dinner yesterday! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States