Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
everyone loved this dish. even the kids. easy and tasty. hint of rosemary really makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made this for a side for young adults for chicken on the grill. They loved it. Put a good finely grated cheese on the top. I used one bag of yukon gold potatoes sliced thin and put in a pretty shallow large casserole. For double recipe expect much longer cooking time. Don't take foil off until at least an hour into baking. The kids loved it. I used the fat-free half/half as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
really great recipe. instead of adding the chopped rosemary, i steeped several sprigs of rosemary in the cream for about 15 minutes (careful not to boil the cream). it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These potatoes ended up tasting good, but I gave them 3 stars because if I hadn't added 2 extra cloves of garlic, extra parmesan cheese, sauteed onions and some shredded mozz cheese on top right before the potatoes were done, I don't think they would have had much flavor. I also had to redo the rue/roux because the amount of flour the recipe called for was way too much. It just ended up being a big clumpy mess. Overall though mine turned out pretty good and I cut some of the fat by using fat free evaporated milk instead of half & half. I will make these again, but with the modifications I had to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was a huge hit when I made it for my parents, brother and sister-in-law! More than one person called it "spectacular", and "the best au gratin potatoes I've ever had". I followed some of the other commenters' advice and prepared it in layers, adding some Swiss cheese. I also used whole milk instead of half-and-half, and used crushed garlic instead of minced. I found the cooking time came out to about 2 hours though, that was the only problem. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great expectations for this recipe resulted in great disappointment. Hubby said it best with "these taste like rosemary flavored moosh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These are great! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Ok...OMG! This is a great recipe. I added on it a little due to the reviews about it being bland. I made it per directions (subbing 1 cup of fat free half & half instead of 2 full fat), then I layed half of the potatoes out, sprinkled 1/3 cup parmesan, and 1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese. Layered the rest of the potatoes, and topped with the other 1/3 cup parmesan, and more goat cheese. Also, I cooked them for what it said, but at 400 (because that is what my meatloaf was cooking at), and it was fine. My husband thought these were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These usually take a bit longer to cook than it says in the recipe, but that could have to do with the fact that I don't actually measure the thickness of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was an excellent dish. I made two small changes; I added about a tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes with the other seasonings, and I topped with grated cheese in addition to the parmesan. Very very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States