Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Even though I used some gruyere cheese to layer in there, it was still just a little bland for my taste. A little extra salt and pepper would probably help. I used some on my serving on my plate and it was fine. It did have a nice "Wow" factor for my potluck dinner. I cubed the potatoes instead of slicing, to make it easier for my preschoolers to eat on their own, and cooked it about 10 minutes longer (about 55 minutes total). Still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe, and a nice change from mashed potatoes, I served it at Thanksgiving dinner and it received rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Cooking time for the potatoes for me was way off - I needed another 30 minutes for potatoes to be cooked all the way (reason for lower rating). Used skim milk and like other reviewers, added a touch of onion. Also added swiss cheese blend to the white sauce (instead of all parmesan) and double rosemary. Fantastic! Next time will try with additional rosemary and a touch more garlic. Can't imagine how rich this would have been with half and half cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
My husband, who dosen't even like potatoes Au Gratin had seconds. Awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Man, this was one awesome dish. I was worried about this recipe being bland, so I added half a chopped yellow onion to the mixture (I sauteed the onion in olive oil until translucent to bring out some of the sweetness). My only change to the recipe besides this was to add about 1.5 times the rosemary, salt, pepper and cheese. I left it in the oven a little longer uncovered to crisp the cheese, and it was a huge hit at our dinner party. The only thing that bummed me out was that I had to share it with everybody - I could have eaten the entire dish myself. I highly recommend this and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEME
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I just thought these were OK but my husband loved them. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These potatoes are sooooo good! I never have leftovers when I serve them. I have made some modifications to make them even tastier. I start by cooking 3 ounces of chopped pancetta over medium heat until crisp and fat is rendered. Then I add two chopped shallots, 2 tablespoons of butter instead of 4 and my rosemary, which I double the amount of. Cook until the shallots are tender and then I proceed with the recipe as written except I do adjust the half and half to thin the sauce just a bit more. I always get lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was delicious! I did add a couple handfulls of italian cheese blend to the white sauce and I used a combination of half and half and milk. Came out with so much flavor I am considering adding this to my holiday menu. I used a mandolin to slice my potatoes so they would all be the same size and cook evenly. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Loved, loved, loved this dish! I used 2% milk to cut fat and calories-- it turned out well. I added 4 cloves of garlic just because we like it. It was a big hit at my house! The fragrance in the house was amazing. Thanks for such a tasty recipe. When I made this again, I grated 8 oz. of parmesan cheese and added half to the white sauce. I put the remainder on top of the potatoes. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Super yummy, i added some extra cream and swiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States