Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
MUST ADD a whole pack of shredded cheddar cheese and thin fresh onion slices. Top with bread crumbs. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
WOW WOW WOW WOW. These are quite possibly THE BEST au gratin potatoes EVER! Assembled in lasagna fashion: sauce, potatoes, cheese, etc. It takes a little bit longer to cook than thought, but it might be my oven. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was disappointing. The roux that you make with the butter, flour, and cream does not compliment the potatoes. It becomes a little mushy after cooking. I used yukon gold potatoes which I normally use for scalloped potatoes and there was little flavor even with fresh garlic and I doubled the rosemary and cheese. If I were to attempt it again, I would leave out the roux process and instead use pats of butter between the layer of potatoes. I would also lightly season each layer w/ S&P, and cheese. The half and half can be poured over top.I think it has potential,but it just okay as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The fresh rosemary really makes this recipe fabulous. I used red potatoes, and I think next time I might add some minced onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent! A lovely but simple dish. I didn't have any Parmesan on hand, so I used a pre-shredded mix of asiago, Romano, mozzarella, and smoked provolone, and it turned out fantastically! I also added 1/2 cup of cheese to the white sauce on the advice of previous commenters. Wonderful! I gave it four stars only because I believe it is better with cheese in the sauce and not just on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! The only thing I did different is add a sliced up sweet onion in with the potatoes before baking, just because I love the potato/onion combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I hate to be THAT person, but this was bland. The top layer with parmesan is fine, but everything under that is so-so. I also learned that I'm not a fan of rosemary in my potatoes, because this almost came out tasting like Pinesol (yes, I did chop the rosemary to avoid having "pine needles"). This needs a can of cream of mushroom soup, more garlic, and a bag of sharp cheddar cheese added to the roux. After letting it sit overnight in the fridge, the rosemary flavored toned down a bit. That was how I salvaged the original recipe. A little bit of bacon or buttered breadcrumbs/cornflakes to give this some texture wouldn't be so bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Simplicity at it's best. Wonderful potato dish, the rosemary gives it a touch of something special. The only change I made was I used shredded Parm and stirred it into the white sauce vs just sprinkling on top. The recipe as written is more on the lines of a scalloped potato dish (potatoes cooked within a white sauce) with cheese just sprinkled on top. Au Gratins are potatoes cooked within a cheese sauce. Besides mixing the parm in the white sauce I did sprinkle lots of grated parm on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I loved the way it turned out. However, I had to use more half-and-half to cover up all of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States