Rose Petal Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
My whole family loved this cake. Both the rosewater and orangewater verions are excellent. My daughter likes it with a bit of fruit cocktail on top of it, but it can easily stand alone. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
An excellent recipe when you want something different for your guests or family. You can also substitute a couple drops of grenadine for the rosewater one, if you want to stay away from artificial coloring... It may add a subtle change to flavoring, but its nice. Same thing for the orangewater one, substitute orange juice for the coloring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Has a very nice tase and is something different with eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was very nice! I made this for Ramadan soohoor (the meal eaten at ramadan just before fasting begins) and was delighted. Be careful not to overbeat...I made this mistake and it resulted in the bread being a bit tough but it was still delicious. I omitted the almond extract because extracts contain alcohol. I used two ounces of ground almonds. ( Just crunched up almond pieces while they were still in the bag) Thanks for this recipe, a true blue keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Excellent. I loved it. Great new taste. Very nice with tea. I would use a little more rose water because I think the taste was very subtle and I love the flavor combination with almond extract. Also the pink color was very light I may use a few more drops next time to really bring out the color. It's easy and very delicious and did not last long. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed this treat! I make them as muffins. My husband likes them because they aren't too sweet and have a hint of rose flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
hello from cairo, yes this cake is verry authentic, however, rose water is neither sweet nor coloured, just verry delicatly flavoured,rose syrup is sweet and coloured, and rose essence is a concentrated version of rose water of which only a few drops are required for beautiful results, keep that in mind next time u go to a middle eastern grocery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I make this all the time. Everyone who tried it loved it. It has become a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is a very unique flavored cake. But that being said it is in all essence a compliment to the dish because the ingredients are amazingly perfect together! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
these were amazing. i used a teacake pan and made pink tinted teacakes which i then iced with a mixture of confectioners sugar, milk, pink food dye, and equal parts rose and almond extracts. my boyfriend, who thinks 'flowers are for smelling, not eating', made a point of telling me they were odd every time he ate one - yet he still ate about 10 and finally admitted they were amazing. i used rose extract instead of rosewater (which has a much stronger flavor) and used a little bit more than the full tsp anyway. i kept the almond extract and almonds the same, but ground the almonds in a food processor to make them really really fine. the results were absolutely delicious. perfect almond to rose ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States