Rose Petal Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
An excellent recipe when you want something different for your guests or family. You can also substitute a couple drops of grenadine for the rosewater one, if you want to stay away from artificial coloring... It may add a subtle change to flavoring, but its nice. Same thing for the orangewater one, substitute orange juice for the coloring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
I made this cake for a bridal shower. It went over very well. With the mix of white and pink. My six year old daughter was in charge of the pink. So my daughter was thrilled to say to everyone that she helped make it and went in to detail of process. I would make this again for any get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
My whole family loved this cake. Both the rosewater and orangewater verions are excellent. My daughter likes it with a bit of fruit cocktail on top of it, but it can easily stand alone. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Has a very nice tase and is something different with eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
I find the almond extract to be too over powering. I substituted amaretto for the extract and everyone enjoyed it. It seems to be something that adults like more than children. Perfect for a bridal shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Excellent. I loved it. Great new taste. Very nice with tea. I would use a little more rose water because I think the taste was very subtle and I love the flavor combination with almond extract. Also the pink color was very light I may use a few more drops next time to really bring out the color. It's easy and very delicious and did not last long. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I don,t know if i did the recipe right or not but i found that this cake was very greasy. it didnt look or have the texture of a pound cake. the taste was not that appealing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was very nice! I made this for Ramadan soohoor (the meal eaten at ramadan just before fasting begins) and was delighted. Be careful not to overbeat...I made this mistake and it resulted in the bread being a bit tough but it was still delicious. I omitted the almond extract because extracts contain alcohol. I used two ounces of ground almonds. ( Just crunched up almond pieces while they were still in the bag) Thanks for this recipe, a true blue keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
The main reason I am giving this recipe only four stars is I don't think the rose flavor is strong enough & the almond is a bit overpowering. I did make some changes to the recipe. First, I baked it in the Pampered Chef silicone flower cupcake pan. Next, I added a half teaspoon more rose water to the batter & frosted the cupcakes with a powdered sugar glaze with rose water & a few drops of red food color to make it pink. They were really pretty I would be great to serve at a bridal or baby shower. I think the main change I would make next time is to use rose extract rather than rose water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed this treat! I make them as muffins. My husband likes them because they aren't too sweet and have a hint of rose flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States