Rose Petal Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was very nice! I made this for Ramadan soohoor (the meal eaten at ramadan just before fasting begins) and was delighted. Be careful not to overbeat...I made this mistake and it resulted in the bread being a bit tough but it was still delicious. I omitted the almond extract because extracts contain alcohol. I used two ounces of ground almonds. ( Just crunched up almond pieces while they were still in the bag) Thanks for this recipe, a true blue keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I don,t know if i did the recipe right or not but i found that this cake was very greasy. it didnt look or have the texture of a pound cake. the taste was not that appealing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Excellent. I loved it. Great new taste. Very nice with tea. I would use a little more rose water because I think the taste was very subtle and I love the flavor combination with almond extract. Also the pink color was very light I may use a few more drops next time to really bring out the color. It's easy and very delicious and did not last long. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
I find the almond extract to be too over powering. I substituted amaretto for the extract and everyone enjoyed it. It seems to be something that adults like more than children. Perfect for a bridal shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Has a very nice tase and is something different with eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
My whole family loved this cake. Both the rosewater and orangewater verions are excellent. My daughter likes it with a bit of fruit cocktail on top of it, but it can easily stand alone. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
I made this cake for a bridal shower. It went over very well. With the mix of white and pink. My six year old daughter was in charge of the pink. So my daughter was thrilled to say to everyone that she helped make it and went in to detail of process. I would make this again for any get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
An excellent recipe when you want something different for your guests or family. You can also substitute a couple drops of grenadine for the rosewater one, if you want to stay away from artificial coloring... It may add a subtle change to flavoring, but its nice. Same thing for the orangewater one, substitute orange juice for the coloring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States