Rose Petal Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I don't know how better to put this than to say that this is a sweetheart of a cake. So pretty and pastel pink! Very interesting flavors of both almond and rose water in the two batters, and both pleasantly delicate. A humble but classy cake that would have been very good on its own, but was even better topped with Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Delicious and pretty! Happy Birthday to me! Followed the recipe to a T and was not disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I couldn't resist going out to buy the same pan as chikalin and making this recipe into tiny tea cakes. The batter behaved beautifully (sprayed the pans, floured, baked 350 for 10-12 mins) and everyone oohed and aaahed over the results. The rosewater flavor is fairly light - even thought I doubled the amount and used closer to 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract based on the other reviewers suggestions. I think it could benefit with a tiny dallop of rosewater scented whipped cream on top - it felt like it needed a little something, but nothing overpowering. They were delicious, not overly sweet and a enjoyed by many at a harem themed party I hosted. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Loved this! I have made these several times. I like to make them in a mini muffin tin, they look so pretty on a tray. Also, I make a simple syrup with a tablespoon of rose water and juice from half a lemon. I quickly dip the cakes. They completely melt in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is a very unique flavored cake. But that being said it is in all essence a compliment to the dish because the ingredients are amazingly perfect together! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
these were amazing. i used a teacake pan and made pink tinted teacakes which i then iced with a mixture of confectioners sugar, milk, pink food dye, and equal parts rose and almond extracts. my boyfriend, who thinks 'flowers are for smelling, not eating', made a point of telling me they were odd every time he ate one - yet he still ate about 10 and finally admitted they were amazing. i used rose extract instead of rosewater (which has a much stronger flavor) and used a little bit more than the full tsp anyway. i kept the almond extract and almonds the same, but ground the almonds in a food processor to make them really really fine. the results were absolutely delicious. perfect almond to rose ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
hello from cairo, yes this cake is verry authentic, however, rose water is neither sweet nor coloured, just verry delicatly flavoured,rose syrup is sweet and coloured, and rose essence is a concentrated version of rose water of which only a few drops are required for beautiful results, keep that in mind next time u go to a middle eastern grocery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I make this all the time. Everyone who tried it loved it. It has become a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed this treat! I make them as muffins. My husband likes them because they aren't too sweet and have a hint of rose flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
The main reason I am giving this recipe only four stars is I don't think the rose flavor is strong enough & the almond is a bit overpowering. I did make some changes to the recipe. First, I baked it in the Pampered Chef silicone flower cupcake pan. Next, I added a half teaspoon more rose water to the batter & frosted the cupcakes with a powdered sugar glaze with rose water & a few drops of red food color to make it pink. They were really pretty I would be great to serve at a bridal or baby shower. I think the main change I would make next time is to use rose extract rather than rose water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States