Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was soooo good! I couldn't find Roquefort so i substituted it with a regular blue cheese and it turned out wonderful. It's true what the others say about the candied pecans - you need to make extra! I COULD NOT keep myself from munching on those while they were cooling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was a HUGE hit at our holiday celebration - made us feel like gourmet chefs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Absolute winner of a recipe/salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this and took it to our family Christmas dinner and everyone LOVED it! It was my first time making it and it was so delicious! This is going to be a regular item on our menu. I left out the avocado as well as the onion and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We had this salad as side dish for Christmas dinner, everybody loved it! Got so many compliments and I was asked for the recipe! The salad is lovely sweet from the pears and the caramelized pecans and the dressing is just so easy and tastes sooooo good! I will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was one of the best salad's I've ever made or tasted. Took it to a pot luck at work and it was the first thing gone. I used hot mustard instead of regular prepared mustard and added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My family loved this recipe and I'm making it again for Christmas Eve potluck this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Eat it all now, doesn't refrigerate overnight well. It is incredibly tasty, a nice Christmas treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
So many great reviews, but this salad was a total and utter bomb for me. I messed up every aspect of it. I mixed the salad ingredients with the only change of using some dried chives instead of green onions. Within 10 minutes I had salad mush. The saltiness from the cheese completely broke down my lettuce. The pears were on the very soft side and that just helped to do that I think. I would highly recommend making all of the components and assembling them on the individual plates. Then, I followed the instructions for the pecans and the sugar did not stick. I had giant clumps of hardened sugar with lightly coated pecans. I have so many oven baked glazed nut recipes that are wonderful. I had never tried this method before. Needless to say after the salad turned to mush and the pecans did not turn out, I didn't bother with the dressing as I had nothing to put it on. I consider myself a pretty advanced cook. Maybe, just too many components here? it's definitely more of a fancy salad and not what I would consider a large one bowl family salad as the directions suggest. I will be greatful if any of this gets eaten at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Best salad EVER. Used gorgonzola instead of Roquefort. Didn't include the green onions. Used more pecans than called for and a little less sugar. Used only 2 pears instead of 3 (mine were pretty large). The combination of flavors together is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States