Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love the combo of ingredients, but seriously, it's the dressing that is the star. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very nice mix of flavors. I preferred to use 1/2 leaf & spring mix:and would do again. I liked the suggestion of red onion (from reviews) for nicer presentation (and flavor). Dressing was excellent as stated. But, I preferred to add a tsp. of honey, to mellow it out some. I had trouble getting the sugar to liquefy with the pecans. After about 15 minutes, the sugar was starting to just crystallize & get hard. So, I tried adding water, like one reviewer recommended. That didn't help, and only made the pecans soften, instead of the wonderful crunch. I tripled the amount of nuts(only). So, I suspect that crowding the pan took longer and *slower*, making caramelizing fail. For tripling, I would higher the heat next time. Due to reviews stating the nuts melted the wax paper, I cooled on a flexible cutting board and that worked well. To prevent browning, I soaked the cut (I used juicy Anjou) pears AND the avocado in cold water in my salad spinner, with 1/2 a lemon juiced: and then drained well. Also, tossed the avocado in some of the dressing, before adding to the salad. Neither the pear or the avocado turned brown/dark, even hours later! I used goat cheese (only due to allergies to mold in blue cheese) and was good:made salad very creamy: almost not needing dressing.But, I would of preferred less ounces, as it overpowered a little. I would like to try tangy Feta next time. These are my 'notes to self', but maybe will help you, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is a really great salad. It tastes like a salad that you would get in a restaurant. I even forgot to put the avocado in the salad. Still, it was delicious. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Fabulous salad! One note about the pecans: the wax paper stuck horribly to the dried nuts when I made this the first time. On my second attempt, I used parchment paper, and they came off beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wow is this good! No changes needed. It is bursting with flavor. If you don't have avocado, don't worry, it is good with or without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Wiederhold

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I couldn't get enough of this salad. I taste tested it before I brought it to a potluck and then "taste tested" a 2nd helping. I used Feta instead of Blue Cheese, left out the avocado and used white onions since I had them on hand. The salad dressing is the bomb. This is a nice palette cleansing salad and not a heavy mayo based salad. Great balance for a meal that has a lot heavy dishes (like Thanksgiving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is one of the best salads I have eaten. I have made this twice since finding the recipe and every one has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Indelicato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for Foodie Friday. EVERYONE adored it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I loved the salad but not the dressing, wasn't bad, just didn't blow me away. I used champagne dressing and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So easy and so good!!! Have made this with and without the avocado. Still good. I always use a different cheese (not a fan of blue or gamey cheeses). Another reviewer mentioned adding a teaspoon or two of water to the nut process - which really makes them foolproof too. GREAT SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Poovie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States