Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving exactly as written. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent doubled everything in the dressing ingredients besides the salt, used country dijon mustard. Also doubled the pecans and cooled on parchment paper. We used a cranberry covered goat cheese which was excellent in substitution for blue cheese (which I do not like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and was a huge hit! I agree with keeping the avocado in. This salad is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this so many times and I never need to change a single thing. I can't say that about many recipes. Seriously, don't we all change our recipes here and there? Well, not this one. No need to change a thing. Just follow the directions, and you are golden. This is now THE salad for Thanksgiving. Can't serve anything else! It's that good. And it's that special. Now, because it is for Thanksgiving, you might want to omit the avocado because it just doesn't hold up.. Pears do - just soak them in 7UP or Sprite before hand (not water, not lemon juice!) Okay, so yeah, I do change one thing each time ... I never use wax paper because putting hot nuts on that kind of is asking for trouble. The wax melts a bit, right? It's a mess. Use parchment paper. The nuts will never stick. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Hapoy T-day, I think I found a carmelization trick. I incorporated about 1 TBSP soft/ warmish butter to the sugar in the pan so that it resembled a crumble; I THEN turned the heat on to low. I think this gave me greater control of the melting temperature as it happens maybe more evenly. Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
The salad came out pretty good. I used Gorgonzola cheese which grew on me. My husband tried the salad and just did not like it. But then again he doesn't like anything that looks weird. I would make this again and possibly bring it in for a potluck or something and see if it gets the same kinds of reviews as I see here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
A simple and fabulous salad... great mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This salad has a wonderful blend of salty, crispy, fresh and sweet. I forgot to add the Avocado but it was delicious. A very nice side to a rich main, such as lasagna. The dressing is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The dressing was really good. I will use it on other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I bought a small bag of candied pecans at Trader Joe's. This salad was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States