Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love the combo of ingredients, but seriously, it's the dressing that is the star. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very nice mix of flavors. I preferred to use 1/2 leaf & spring mix:and would do again. I liked the suggestion of red onion (from reviews) for nicer presentation (and flavor). Dressing was excellent as stated. But, I preferred to add a tsp. of honey, to mellow it out some. I had trouble getting the sugar to liquefy with the pecans. After about 15 minutes, the sugar was starting to just crystallize & get hard. So, I tried adding water, like one reviewer recommended. That didn't help, and only made the pecans soften, instead of the wonderful crunch. I tripled the amount of nuts(only). So, I suspect that crowding the pan took longer and *slower*, making caramelizing fail. For tripling, I would higher the heat next time. Due to reviews stating the nuts melted the wax paper, I cooled on a flexible cutting board and that worked well. To prevent browning, I soaked the cut (I used juicy Anjou) pears AND the avocado in cold water in my salad spinner, with 1/2 a lemon juiced: and then drained well. Also, tossed the avocado in some of the dressing, before adding to the salad. Neither the pear or the avocado turned brown/dark, even hours later! I used goat cheese (only due to allergies to mold in blue cheese) and was good:made salad very creamy: almost not needing dressing.But, I would of preferred less ounces, as it overpowered a little. I would like to try tangy Feta next time. These are my 'notes to self', but maybe will help you, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is a really great salad. It tastes like a salad that you would get in a restaurant. I even forgot to put the avocado in the salad. Still, it was delicious. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Fabulous salad! One note about the pecans: the wax paper stuck horribly to the dried nuts when I made this the first time. On my second attempt, I used parchment paper, and they came off beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wow is this good! No changes needed. It is bursting with flavor. If you don't have avocado, don't worry, it is good with or without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Wiederhold

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I couldn't get enough of this salad. I taste tested it before I brought it to a potluck and then "taste tested" a 2nd helping. I used Feta instead of Blue Cheese, left out the avocado and used white onions since I had them on hand. The salad dressing is the bomb. This is a nice palette cleansing salad and not a heavy mayo based salad. Great balance for a meal that has a lot heavy dishes (like Thanksgiving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is one of the best salads I have eaten. I have made this twice since finding the recipe and every one has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Indelicato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for Foodie Friday. EVERYONE adored it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I loved the salad but not the dressing, wasn't bad, just didn't blow me away. I used champagne dressing and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So easy and so good!!! Have made this with and without the avocado. Still good. I always use a different cheese (not a fan of blue or gamey cheeses). Another reviewer mentioned adding a teaspoon or two of water to the nut process - which really makes them foolproof too. GREAT SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Poovie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States