Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I was looking for a salad for Christmas day lunch. I was initially thinking of something with cherry tomatoes, but after some research, I found that pears are a traditional Christmas food around much of the world and pecans are always a favorite here in Georgia. I am so glad I stumbled across this recipe. It was a HUGE success and despite making enough for 18, the entire salad was devoured within 24 hours. I'm not sure if I would include the avocados the next time I make this, but there will definitely be a next time. CHEERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this for company this week. I have never liked Roquefort cheese but in this salad it was really good. Company all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this on Christmas Eve. I bought the fancy Roquefort and was a little worried because it was blue and oily, but it ended up being delicious. I used Grey Poupon for the mustard and I substituted truffle oil for half of the olive oil. It. Was. Amazing. This will be a go to recipe for me. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Just made this and it is likely my favorite salad - followed the directions exactly except that I used almonds instead of pecans, and they were delicious! After making the caramelized nuts, I let them cool overnight and then crushed them (easier on the teeth). I also soaked the cut up onions overnight in water to take out some of their potency (I'm very sensitive to raw onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! My husband and I really enjoyed this and will definitely make it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I first tried this salad on Thanksgiving of 2010. I didn't change anything intentionally. However, for the dressing, I didn't have regular yellow mustard, which is too pungent for my taste anyway, so I used Grey Poupon Mild and Creamy Dijon, made with White Wine. It was very good and I received compliments on the whole salad. I was just recently trying to think of a good salad to make and when I remembered this one, had to run to the grocery store to get the ingredients I didn't have. This time, I used half yellow mustard and half of the Grey Poupon and it wasn't bad. I love the avocado-pear combination. I use iceberg lettuce, or spring mix, whatever is on hand. All in all, this salad is one of my favorites and the combinations are superb. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow, this was good. Many layers of flavor. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I am a huge salad lover, and this salad is amazing. I make it often when I have guests over. It's a winner every time. I have substituted the blue cheese for feta when I am out of blue. Delicious! I also just make the dressing to put over other salads. Love the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!! Our family of 6 was so busy inhaling this salad that there was no conversation at the table until the salad bowl was empty! Recipe is PERFECT as written... I did substitute Spring mix (about 8 ounces) just for color. I will use this salad the next time I want to impress a dinner guest :) Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
People either loved it or didn't. I thought it was ok. I'm not a big fan of blue cheese. People who like blue cheese loved it. I made it the way the recipe called for except I used gorgonzola. Younger kids wouldn't eat it. I liked the dressing. It'd be good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States