Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I was looking for a salad for Christmas day lunch. I was initially thinking of something with cherry tomatoes, but after some research, I found that pears are a traditional Christmas food around much of the world and pecans are always a favorite here in Georgia. I am so glad I stumbled across this recipe. It was a HUGE success and despite making enough for 18, the entire salad was devoured within 24 hours. I'm not sure if I would include the avocados the next time I make this, but there will definitely be a next time. CHEERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this for company this week. I have never liked Roquefort cheese but in this salad it was really good. Company all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this on Christmas Eve. I bought the fancy Roquefort and was a little worried because it was blue and oily, but it ended up being delicious. I used Grey Poupon for the mustard and I substituted truffle oil for half of the olive oil. It. Was. Amazing. This will be a go to recipe for me. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Just made this and it is likely my favorite salad - followed the directions exactly except that I used almonds instead of pecans, and they were delicious! After making the caramelized nuts, I let them cool overnight and then crushed them (easier on the teeth). I also soaked the cut up onions overnight in water to take out some of their potency (I'm very sensitive to raw onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! My husband and I really enjoyed this and will definitely make it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I first tried this salad on Thanksgiving of 2010. I didn't change anything intentionally. However, for the dressing, I didn't have regular yellow mustard, which is too pungent for my taste anyway, so I used Grey Poupon Mild and Creamy Dijon, made with White Wine. It was very good and I received compliments on the whole salad. I was just recently trying to think of a good salad to make and when I remembered this one, had to run to the grocery store to get the ingredients I didn't have. This time, I used half yellow mustard and half of the Grey Poupon and it wasn't bad. I love the avocado-pear combination. I use iceberg lettuce, or spring mix, whatever is on hand. All in all, this salad is one of my favorites and the combinations are superb. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow, this was good. Many layers of flavor. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I am a huge salad lover, and this salad is amazing. I make it often when I have guests over. It's a winner every time. I have substituted the blue cheese for feta when I am out of blue. Delicious! I also just make the dressing to put over other salads. Love the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!! Our family of 6 was so busy inhaling this salad that there was no conversation at the table until the salad bowl was empty! Recipe is PERFECT as written... I did substitute Spring mix (about 8 ounces) just for color. I will use this salad the next time I want to impress a dinner guest :) Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
People either loved it or didn't. I thought it was ok. I'm not a big fan of blue cheese. People who like blue cheese loved it. I made it the way the recipe called for except I used gorgonzola. Younger kids wouldn't eat it. I liked the dressing. It'd be good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States