Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
A nice salad. The only vinaigrette I've ever enjoyed. For my familys sake I subbed out the blue cheese with parmesan, but I will have to try it with blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by r h

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I enjoyed this as a large dinner salad. The dressing was really good, but the amount doesn't go a long way. I made it for myself, and there wasn't much left. So if you're making it for more than 1-2 people, you probably may want to double or triple it (as other reviewers mentioned, as well). A big step saver: I used prepackaged sweet and spicy pecans that I had on hand that worked excellent, and I used red onion in place of the green. A delicious and healthy salad. Thanks Michelle K!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I now understand why this recipe has had so many 5-star reviews. It's simply divine, and one of the best salads I've had in a long, long time! Followed the recipe to the letter except for using Dijon mustard, instead of the regular yellow prepared mustard. You get layer upon layer of fresh and bright flavor, every single ingredient complements the other (without one dominating), the dressing on its own is awesome, and those caramelized pecans just take it over the top. The next time this salad makes a repeat performance in this house it'll have grilled & chilled shrimp, perfect for a summer main course salad. This one's heading into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
The pears I used weren't fully ripe, but this salad still turned out great. A party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made exactly as recipe is written several times now. It is always a hit. Wonderful recipe. I have even received compliments from non salad eaters as they helped themselves to seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Used balsamic instead of red wine vinegar & crumbled bleu cheese instead of roquefort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made this for dinner tonight and there was hardly any left! I used romaine lettuce,gorgonzola cheese and red onion for color. I doubled the recipe for the dressing, used Dijon mustard per previous reviews but put a squirt of yellow mustard in it to sharpen the taste up a little and then added a little more sugar to make it barely sweet. This helped to blend the flavors in the dressing. One extra tip is that you can never have too many of the caramelized pecans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I used green apples instead. VERY YUMMYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love the combo of ingredients, but seriously, it's the dressing that is the star. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very nice mix of flavors. I preferred to use 1/2 leaf & spring mix:and would do again. I liked the suggestion of red onion (from reviews) for nicer presentation (and flavor). Dressing was excellent as stated. But, I preferred to add a tsp. of honey, to mellow it out some. I had trouble getting the sugar to liquefy with the pecans. After about 15 minutes, the sugar was starting to just crystallize & get hard. So, I tried adding water, like one reviewer recommended. That didn't help, and only made the pecans soften, instead of the wonderful crunch. I tripled the amount of nuts(only). So, I suspect that crowding the pan took longer and *slower*, making caramelizing fail. For tripling, I would higher the heat next time. Due to reviews stating the nuts melted the wax paper, I cooled on a flexible cutting board and that worked well. To prevent browning, I soaked the cut (I used juicy Anjou) pears AND the avocado in cold water in my salad spinner, with 1/2 a lemon juiced: and then drained well. Also, tossed the avocado in some of the dressing, before adding to the salad. Neither the pear or the avocado turned brown/dark, even hours later! I used goat cheese (only due to allergies to mold in blue cheese) and was good:made salad very creamy: almost not needing dressing.But, I would of preferred less ounces, as it overpowered a little. I would like to try tangy Feta next time. These are my 'notes to self', but maybe will help you, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States