Roquefort Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was fantastic! I cannot use salt so modified the salt and celery salt for celery seed and extra pepper! Turned out great!! Love that I can make just enough fresh dressing as needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is outstanding! I probably shouldn't rate it (according to the purists) because I had to substitute based on what I had on hand, but regardless, the result was exceptional and got raves. I used white wine vinegar because I was out of regular (used it all for cleaning,) used kosher salt because I didn't have any celery salt and used Gorgonzola because I couldn't find Roquefort at my grocery store in the amount of time I was willing to spend looking. I am as excited as it's possible to get about a dressing with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Use good Roquefort cheese. Mmmm! Pure deliciousness. Takes me back to my grandma making this for family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved it! I made it using sheep's milk Roquefort and goat's milk yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out perfectly! I also used a white balsamic vinegar this time... I think next time I want to try using champagne vinegar instead. I suspect it should go really well with the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This dressing is exactly what I was looking for. I added a tablespoon of Worcester sauce and lemon juice because I tend to like my dressing a bit on the tangy side. Also if you are in a pinch and don't have time to refrigerate to allow time for the flavors to meld, simply add the dressing into the blender and add some Roquefort/blue cheese and blend away, then you can also add more crumbles and whisk to desired chunkiness. This adds the cheese flavor immediately that you would otherwise get with time in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
very good. However will you people stop calling it blue cheese. This is sheep milk roquefort! Blue cheese in the USA is cows milk cheese...NOT THE SAME THING. Thanks to the Cheese Wars with France most of us were bereft of Roquefort Cheese for many years. Someone thought that they could switch to blue cheese. This dressing proves that you cannot. It is true Roquefort dressing that I grew up with. Good show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was awesome. I love Roquefort and needed a dip to replace the nasty stuff that came with a big vegetable platter. Have been using it on sandwiches and salads since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I was SO happy to find my beloved ROQUEFORT dressing recipe!!! There is a BIG difference between ROQUEFORT and Bleu cheese! They are NOT the same. Bleu cheese is cheaper than Roquefort (if you can believe that!) As far as I know, this is why most restaurants stopped making the REAL Roquefort. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Roquefort, and really miss it. This is a wonderful recipe! THANK YOU SO MUCH Rumba. Now I can have my Roquefort and eat it too!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was very good but did not outdo my favorite. I only added about 4 oz of bleu cheese. The 6 oz would of been way too strong for me. This was too thick - I had to add about 1/4 C buttermilk to get the consistancy I wanted. Thanks for the recipe Rumba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good! My first try at making home-made blue cheese dressing, and it makes me wish I'd made up a batch of hot wings to go with them! As another reviewer mentioned, it is more dip like - so for what I used on my salad I just thinned out a bit with milk. I used low-fat mayo and light sour cream, and my container of blue cheese (not roquefort, just regular blue cheese) was only 4 oz. It was perfect for me, but I know others probably prefer it cheesier. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States