Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Excellent! I have made this many times, and use the recipe as is. I have used the crock pot method also, and it worked very well also. First time I made it was for a school lunch project in my daughter's Spanish class. Was voted best dish! Served with black beans and yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I make it spicier but, the recipe is delicious and I've made it numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I use canned diced tomatoes instead of tomatoes sauce, extra garlic and capers to this recipe!! Turns out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Family liked this dish. I decreased wine and onion soup mix by 1/2. Added 2 jalapeños and one cup of fresh tomatoes along with the salsa. Baked a 2 lb. roast for 3.5 hours. The vegetables became carmelized and meat was tender and easy to shred. Served it over brown rice with mexican coleslaw on the side. Requested to have this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
cons: i personally dislike shredding meat because it is lots of work. Pros: flavor was great. As per other reviews, i added 1 can rotel tomatoes and 2 green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Yummy roast! I wasn't too excited about this recipe at first because it had a weird smell but it turned out very tasty. After reading reviews, I made these adjustments as well: 1/2 cup madria sangria (I didn't want to open up my red wine), 1/2 cup beef broth, can of rotel w/ chiles, small can green chile, red pearl onions, and kosher salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This has been our family's favorite pot roast for years! I have tried it in the crock pot or in a dutch oven and I prefer the oven. I felt like it lost a lot of flavor in the crock pot. I also use Rotel sometimes with the picante or in place of. I substitute beef boullion/minced onion homemade mix for the lipton onion soup to avoid the MSG. I use light olive oil for the vegetable oil for healthier fats. During the winter this is a weekly item and makes great roast beef sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this dish the other night using a crock pot. I took out the water and added more of the red wine. It came out soooo yummy.. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danilu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Super easy roast that always turns out great. My favorite recipe on AllRecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRATFORDS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was a great dish! I did not have wine so I used beef broth in its place. The meat was tender and vwry tasty! Definitely will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States