Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
My Husbands new favorite meal! The better wine you use the better this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I'm giving this 4 on flavor and an extra 1 for ease and simplicity! The flavors are wonderful! Unfortunately I didn't have the dry onion soup mix, just a pkg. of garlic & mushroom, so used that. It was great. Next time I'll make sure I have the onion on hand, just to see if there is a big difference in flavor. I didn't shred mine, just sliced and served with the sauce, along with some bollios to mop up the extra sauce! FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This recipe is a keeper! Very easy and makes a rich tasty sauce...I add some finely sliced green peppers an hour before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS.SUSAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made this exactly as directed, except I used medium, homemade salsa instead of prepared salsa. I also made it in the crock pot instead of the oven and served it over packaged yellow rice and served black beans on the side. No leftovers in our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
The recipe was very easy to put together. I used a mixture of beef and pork and served it with rice and a spicy southwestern slaw. A spicy lime mayonnaise on the top with diced tomato and avocado finished it off wonderfully. Serve with fried flour and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Excellent cooked in a crock pot for tortilla filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
A GREAT recipe with a wonderful title when translated into Spanish! Good with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was as delicious as it was easy to prepare! I used 1 cup of fresh salsa and added crushed fresh garlic at the very end of the cooking time. I also added more than one cup of wine (more like 1.5) and seasoned with freshly ground black pepper before serving. We served it over white rice, and my husband had 3 bowls the first night, and ate ALL the leftovers. This makes quite a bit, so it would be great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
WONDERFUL! This recipe is fantastic. We made it in the crockpot (low temp for 10-12 hours) and the beef was so tender. We've made it several times now, and this last time found me without Lipton Onion Soup Mix in the house; I ended up adding extra minced onion, some onion salt, pepper and a bit of garlic seasoning. It still turned out great, with almost the same flavor as usual. We serve it on tortillas, typically, but have also used it on sliced french bread or a sandwich bun. Great for freezing, as it makes a lot. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Great recipe! I've made this several times and it's always a hit! I serve it over rice or with guac in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBeezKneez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cadwell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States