Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
A GREAT recipe with a wonderful title when translated into Spanish! Good with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Excellent cooked in a crock pot for tortilla filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I'm giving this 4 on flavor and an extra 1 for ease and simplicity! The flavors are wonderful! Unfortunately I didn't have the dry onion soup mix, just a pkg. of garlic & mushroom, so used that. It was great. Next time I'll make sure I have the onion on hand, just to see if there is a big difference in flavor. I didn't shred mine, just sliced and served with the sauce, along with some bollios to mop up the extra sauce! FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Essentially this was a "pot roast" burrito (we used flour tortillas) BUT we loved it! We squeezed limes and had slices of avacados with a dallop of sour cream on top and rolled them up in warm tortillas. Next time I might add some fresh cilantro or take the salsa up a notch for a little more kick. I will make this again. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I tried this recipe as it was the only one for ropa vieja listed. My husband remembers this dish from growing up in Miami. Although I'm not sure how close it was to what he remembered, he enjoyed it! It was certainly easy to make, the meat was tender, and I served it with the cooking juices over white rice. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Great taste! I used rotel instead of salsa adn it was great! Also good without wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
The recipe was very easy to put together. I used a mixture of beef and pork and served it with rice and a spicy southwestern slaw. A spicy lime mayonnaise on the top with diced tomato and avocado finished it off wonderfully. Serve with fried flour and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
My Husbands new favorite meal! The better wine you use the better this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States