Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Great recipe! I've made this several times and it's always a hit! I serve it over rice or with guac in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBeezKneez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cadwell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
WONDERFUL! This recipe is fantastic. We made it in the crockpot (low temp for 10-12 hours) and the beef was so tender. We've made it several times now, and this last time found me without Lipton Onion Soup Mix in the house; I ended up adding extra minced onion, some onion salt, pepper and a bit of garlic seasoning. It still turned out great, with almost the same flavor as usual. We serve it on tortillas, typically, but have also used it on sliced french bread or a sandwich bun. Great for freezing, as it makes a lot. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My mother has made a version of ropa vieja for years. I decided to give this recipe a try. Like some other reviewers, I used a crockpot also. I cut down a bit on the salsa. The flavor was wonderful, but it came out a bit 'soupier' than I would have liked. In the future I will reduce the water so it is a bit drier in the end. Otherwise, no complaints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made this exactly as directed, except I used medium, homemade salsa instead of prepared salsa. I also made it in the crock pot instead of the oven and served it over packaged yellow rice and served black beans on the side. No leftovers in our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This recipe was excellent overall, without much prep time and easy directions. Next time, I personally would use a "mellow/light-tasting" red wine to prevent any chance of the wine overpowering everything else (came close). Additionally I used a chunky, homemade salsa instead of a store bought salsa. My family loved it, and the leftovers are...history.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This recipe is a keeper! Very easy and makes a rich tasty sauce...I add some finely sliced green peppers an hour before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS.SUSAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This recipe was good, but I was expecting more of a spicy flavor from the salsa. It sort of tasted like regular pot roast, but I liked it better when I added more salsa after the fact. I will definitely make it again, but will try to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was as delicious as it was easy to prepare! I used 1 cup of fresh salsa and added crushed fresh garlic at the very end of the cooking time. I also added more than one cup of wine (more like 1.5) and seasoned with freshly ground black pepper before serving. We served it over white rice, and my husband had 3 bowls the first night, and ate ALL the leftovers. This makes quite a bit, so it would be great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
A GREAT recipe with a wonderful title when translated into Spanish! Good with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Excellent cooked in a crock pot for tortilla filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States