Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is my go to recipe when we can not decide what to have. Very rich and flavorful. I have made it in the oven and stovetop, the stovetop version comes out better for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Saxon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe as does my whole family. I've never had a roast come out so tender. And the whole house smells wonderful. I use a slow cooker and we usually eat this with tortillas and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is very good. I tweaked the recipe a bit after reading some reviews. I carmelized a yellow onion with three cloves of garlic. Then I seared the chuck roast (i used 2lbs). I added 1/4 red wine and 1/4 cup of water and a 1/2 TSP of beef bouillion. Then I chopped up a green pepper and cooked it all together on high for a couple hours. I also added a can of Rotel tomatoes. I added a 1/3 of red wine because it needed more liquid and a by dinner time it was tender and delish! It was tender after 3 hours of cooking on high on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was delicious! Even my pickiest eater enjoyed it. It would be very easy to boost the Spanish flavor with some additional seasonings--cumin or chiles for those who like it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Sooooooooooooooo good! We have it with brown spanish rice and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
So good! I used a 3 lb. bottom round roast and subbed a 10 oz can of RoTel for the salsa. Cooked in Crock Pot for 8 hours on high, shredded beef and left in juices for another hour. We had it on corn tortillas with cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe as is. I won't make ingredient changes, but next time I'll make the recipe in the slow cooker- and I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
For as much work that went into this I'm surprised I found it so bland. There are so many flavors in it, but it seems to come out boring. I served this @ a dinner party and my girlfriend and coworkers liked it but I think they were just being nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHADPETRI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was Great! I pan seared roast in spicy brand olive oil. Wonderful flavor. I used both beef and pork roast and they turned out perfectly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Very good. Close to what I've had in Cuban rests. I would suggest to add some peas or maybe some pepper sliced. What I also did was after shredding up meat, put it back into the sauce and let it absorb more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States