Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Unfortunately it tasted more like a good pot roast than true ropa vieja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Hubby and I were very pleased with this recipe. We will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This is the best recipe I've found on All Recipes. Excellent flavor and super easy. I never knew chuck roast could taste so good. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Excellent flavor. I love the way the wine mellows to create a rich warm flavor for this meat. We ate it over brown rice, but it would be really wonderful as a filling. So nice to have another way to fix chuck roast that has new flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good recipe. I subbed cranberry juice for the wine and doubled the salsa. I also made mine in a crockpot 8 hrs. on high, without browning on the stove first. I enjoyed it today and I'm really looking forward to seeing what I will do with this tender tasty beef tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Average at best. I made this in the Slow Cooker so eliminated the water. It really wasn't special at all. I was expecting so much more from the positive reviews but it was just so bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Awesome Roast! I added a can of beef broth to cover the meat in the slow cooker. I accidently opened a bottle of white wine and used it instead of red. oops! I'm waiting for my Mexican Rice III on this site to be done so we can chow down. The meat was well done after being browned and then in the slow cooker on low for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very good. Smells delicious while cooking. I too subbed Rotel tomatoes. Jalapenos are included in the can. Very flavorful. Make it like a burrito with black beans and cheese. Only gave it 4 stars becaue my boys are not fans of tomatoes but till liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I tried this recipe and it was pretty good. Not quite like I was expecting, but we made some good dishes with it. Guess I'm not really used to using Chuck Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRASCRAPPER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a nice change from your average pot roast recipe. At first I wasn't too sure about using wine with salsa, but our family ended up loving it. I've made some changes too, subbed 1 can rotel for the salsa, added 1 can of diced green chilies, used 1/2 can beef broth for the water, reduced red wine to 1/2 cup, added 1 can black beans, 1/2 a diced onion and some minced garlic and simmered in my slow cooker. Omitted dry onion soup, because I didn't have any, but it didn't seem to need it. Very good, and very tender. Shredded beef, added some white rice and wrapped in flour tortillas with some shredded cheese. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama

Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States