Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent. I made a few slight changes... substituted beef broth for most of the wine and used Rotel instead of salsa. Great flavor. I'm sure it's delicious however you tweak it to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
LOVE this. Made it in the crockpot with slight variations: omitted Lipton soup mix and instead made a rub of garlic salt, onion salt, cayenne, salt and pepper - rub evenly over roast and sear on all sides. Cover with carmelized onion and garlic and topped with pico de gallo (tomatoes, onions, cilantro and jalapeno mix) - Added black beans and a few coarsely chopped red peppers and added liquid as suggested. High - 8 hours, shred with 2 forks and crack lid for last hour to help thicken. Serve over rice, top with avocado and mexican creme (sour cream would be fine) and pass tortillas. Instantly became a family favorite - Mucho delicioso!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
First time making this! I had meat that I had to use and popped this into a pot on the stovetop and it came out awesome! It was very juicy and tasty...needed absolutely no salt or sour cream or lime (like I like to add to my tacos). Thank you so much. My husbands family was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My husband who NEVER raves about anything loved this! I added potatoes which were soft and soaked up the juices. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
add adobo peppers, yellow pepper and use dark ale for base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Melle, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Came out just as I hoped! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Quite good. Very different from another ropa vieja recipe I have used that was a bit more tomato-based, but still a very nice taste. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was truly delicious....definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Good. I used beef broth in place of the wine and cooked it in the crockpot on low for about 8 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This turned out great! My husband LOVED this dish. I pretty much followed the recipe but made a few changes based on some of the reviews and my own personal taste. I slightly seasoned the roast with seasoning salt, garlic powder, and onion powder. Then I browned it in the skillet and followed the instructions from there. I added a little cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the wine mixture (I used salsa and rotel). I transferred everything to the crockpot and cooked it on high for 4-5 hours. This meat was full of flavor and extremely tender. I served it ith a homeade cilantro lime rice on the side and garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States