Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
It's OK but I don't think I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Hubby came home with some thick slabs of skirt steak and I needed a long slow recipe for them. This was the ticket! I had homemade salsa so I used that with 2 pkts of soup mix. I did not use the wine and I forgot to add the onion. 3 slabs of beef in the huge cast iron skillet and in the oven it went, 3 hrs later, the house had the Most wonderful scent:) MMMMM I whipped up a batch of spanish rice and toasted the flour tortillas. Deliscioso!! Thank you ChrsityJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Needs more spice! I've been on the lookout for a good shredded beef (for tacos) recipe for a LONG time. I've tried them all - Mijo's slow cooker shredded beef, Charley's slow cooker Mexican style meat & shredded beef for tacos. None, including this one, meet my expectations. Having said this, I do think this recipe is the best of them all, but will require some mods if I ever make it again. Christy's recipe is a bit too savory, IMHO. Even with hot salsa, it tasted too much like pot roast. I'd definitely up the amount of salsa next time (maybe in lieu of the H2O called for???). My only changes were slow cooking my roast (I like to find ways to use my sc whenever possible) & adding a t of minced garlic. I seared my roast / sauteed my onion as directed, dumped everything in the sc, cooked on HIGH for 2 hrs. & then on LOW for another 4. NOTE: Every hr. on high ='s 2-2 1/2 on low. I didn't get around to prepping dinner until Noon. Since I wanted to eat at a decent hr., I started everythig on high, but I don't recommend this. Beef cuts are better suited on low. NOTE #2: The low setting is around 200 degrees F & the high setting around 300. One last note.... 4-5 hr. on HIGH / 8-10 on LOW are suitable timeframes for oven cooking times ranging from 1-3 hr. I hope this helps those of you wanting to use your sc! Served on fried corn tortillas w/ salsa, red cabbage, cilantro, queso fresco & a side of Mexican rice. Bacardi mojitos completed our meal. Thanks CHRISTYJ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wonderful, we used a sirloin roast, and think it would have been better as chuck just as it would have shredded easier. However, the flavor was amazing, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by broeliz@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Really easy and delicious. I made this in the slow cooker and it turned out great. I shredded the beef and put them in fried corn tortillas with cabbage, salsa, cotija cheese, avocado and hot sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Wow!! What a great and easy recipe!! Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Outstanding!!!! I've made it several times for home served over rice with black beans. Now getting ready to feed 50 homeless folks at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plight7777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wow. Tender, flavorful. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent. I made a few slight changes... substituted beef broth for most of the wine and used Rotel instead of salsa. Great flavor. I'm sure it's delicious however you tweak it to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
LOVE this. Made it in the crockpot with slight variations: omitted Lipton soup mix and instead made a rub of garlic salt, onion salt, cayenne, salt and pepper - rub evenly over roast and sear on all sides. Cover with carmelized onion and garlic and topped with pico de gallo (tomatoes, onions, cilantro and jalapeno mix) - Added black beans and a few coarsely chopped red peppers and added liquid as suggested. High - 8 hours, shred with 2 forks and crack lid for last hour to help thicken. Serve over rice, top with avocado and mexican creme (sour cream would be fine) and pass tortillas. Instantly became a family favorite - Mucho delicioso!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States