Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as shown. My family loved it. Would be great as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Careful not to overcook this or it will turn into mush. I learned this by mistake. Follow the directions and check on it often and it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was wonderful, I didn't change much just substituted a white onion for the sweet onion and added ¼ cup of brandy. This was so tender and tasty, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I thought this was ok, but my husband LOVED it! I only used 2 red peppers no green-my personal preference. I also only used 1 onion (dh & dd are not fond of them) I thought it smelled VERY "peppery", but I didn't think it tasted very peppery. I used the whole can of paste- I hate having it sit in the fridge always seems to go to waste and it was fine. I wish I had started it a little earlier then I did because I think my meat could have used about 10 hours of cooking time. I have leftovers that I'm going to use tonight in tacos or burritos so it will be interesting to see what happens with the flavors. This is certainly easy to do. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My Spanish mother in law said it tasted like her mama's. I doubled the liquids to make extra broth and served over rice. delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This turned out great and was a nice easy fix on a busy day. We even ate the leftovers, and we never do that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was a great, easy recipe. I only used 1/2 of a green and 1/2 of a red pepper because that is all I had but, everything else was the same. We had two last minute guests and they loved it also. I served it with yellow rice and plantains. Two men and two 11 year old boys ate almost all of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Delicious and flavorful. A word of advice for those who are not crazy about peppers- this dish tastes A LOT like peppers. Cut down some if you prefer, you will be ok. I added 5 fresh garlic cloves minced and 1 whole can of tomato paste (and I regretted doing that, 1/2 can is definitely better in my opinion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe!! The only thing I added was 2 tablespoons of crushed red pepper to add a bit of spice. My family loves their spicy foods!! Served with some home made refried beans and spanish rice in tortilla shells. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
super good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States