Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good. Everyone loved it. I did add a cup of red wine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
It's missing something. I never have any luck when I put peppers in a slow cooker. It was in the slow cooker for 7.5 hrs and my peppers turned to mush and skins. If I ever make again maybe 6.5hrs is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was fantastic! Kind of had a sweet flavor to it that was really nice. I served in tortillas and topped with shredded cheese, sliced avocado and sour cream. There was a lot of excess juice that I drained off at the end. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
very good; both in tacos and over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
So very yummy. Although, I did change very minor things due to nutritional and time reasons, this was the most awesomely tender roast ever!! I used a 1.5 lb sirloin tip roast(one that was actually larger, but I split since this only a family of 3) rather than the chuck, for the nutritional reasons. Since I didn't start this until 2pm, I set the crock to high for about 3.5 hrs, then cut it down to low for another hour before shredding. I did not use the green pepper(personal preference), plus used the yellow onion, since that is what I had on hand. Otherwise....superb. I served this on soft taco shells with sour cream, lettuce & cheese(which I had pico de gallo, though). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiken88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as written and thought it was very tasty. I served it with refried beans and brown rice. It made a very substantial and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was delicious. Couldn't find sweet onions, so I used two yellow onions. Also used a whole tin (5.5 oz) of tomato paste. Otherwise followed the recipe to a tee and will definitely make it again (and again, and again). It is quite meaty, so I may add another onion and some more peppers next time but it was definitely great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Super. I cooked it for about 9 hours, it was tender and the sauce was just delicious! Better ven the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent! So easy... followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of cooking just 15 minutes at the end instead of 30. Fabulous with rice and plantains... definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States