Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
A bland for my taste. I have to admit I forgot the garlic and I know that would have added flavor but this recipe reminded me of a plain pot roast, bland! The taste of the chuck pot roast was so overwhelming and disappointing. A true ropa vieja should be made with a flank steak. Trust me, I was born and raised on ropa vieja growing up in Miami. Trying so many different versions, this recipe was missing something, not just the garlic ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I personally loved it but my husband thought it was a little sweet. He doesn't like any sweetness with his meats!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Tasted great. My husband didn't like eating the meat plain - he wanted it in a tortilla. Super easy to make. I guess I have a smaller crockpot because I could only fit in 1/2 the veggies. But it still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The hardest part of this recipe is putting the fork down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I used to make this once a week but eventually my husband got tired of it. I love how easy it is, and really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This came out great- I'm glad i followed NC Baking Girl's review. Sometimes you really needn't change things. Thanks for the recipe NCBG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This turned out really delicious! i was skeptical of the very little "liquid" i put in with the meat in the beginning, but in the end, the fat and juices from the meat itself provided plenty of yummy juice. also, i used a 4 qt slow cooker and not all the veggies fit! i would recommend using maybe half of each onion? i left some of it out myself. very very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes found on this site. I made this twice within a few weeks. The meat ends up being so tender and the flavors are so rich. I brought left overs to work and everyone loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've looked everywhere for a good ropa vieja recipe. My boyfriend is half Cuban and is very picky, because nothing is as good as his mom's, but he approved on this recipe. Its best if served traditionally, with white rice, blacks bean and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
One of my new favorite things to make. Super easy & tasty! I serve over rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Valenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States