Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This came out great- I'm glad i followed NC Baking Girl's review. Sometimes you really needn't change things. Thanks for the recipe NCBG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This turned out really delicious! i was skeptical of the very little "liquid" i put in with the meat in the beginning, but in the end, the fat and juices from the meat itself provided plenty of yummy juice. also, i used a 4 qt slow cooker and not all the veggies fit! i would recommend using maybe half of each onion? i left some of it out myself. very very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes found on this site. I made this twice within a few weeks. The meat ends up being so tender and the flavors are so rich. I brought left overs to work and everyone loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've looked everywhere for a good ropa vieja recipe. My boyfriend is half Cuban and is very picky, because nothing is as good as his mom's, but he approved on this recipe. Its best if served traditionally, with white rice, blacks bean and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
One of my new favorite things to make. Super easy & tasty! I serve over rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was the best Ropa Vieja (and only) I've ever had! This was good. Hubby really liked. I was afraid it was going to be too vinegar like so I added a pkt. of liptons beefy onion soup mix. Good sauce and surprisingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious and surprisingly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was excellent. My husband loved it. My meat was a little tough and next time I will let it cook a little longer. Very nice flavor and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Wonderful! Not the same old pot roast. I used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine and all green peppers since that was what I had and it was delish! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe ~ my family loved it. I did add 1/2 tsp of Cumin to the recipe and served it with Jasmine Rice. Thanks for a great meal !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States