Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe was revised by the Allrecipes staff at the submitter's request on 9/10/2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The taste of this dish was all about the bell pepper. (Not in a pleasant way.) I cut down on bell peppers and made this the original way according to NC;s directions, but using fresh tomatoes (tis the season) and it was very good. The rating is for the botched up recipe, not the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this yummy dish and didn't make any changes to it. It was simple and easy to use. I enjoyed this recipie the way it was written. By adding several other ingriedents it becomes a whole different recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
i would substitute chili powder for cayenne pepper which is is a bit too spicy for me. it would turn out the same...but mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Another choice of wine with this meal would be an Australian Shiraz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
i tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is delicioso if you cook los platanos (plantain) when tey are yellow and you fry it..the sweet of the yellow planton, and the sauce of the ropa vieja mixed with rice is wayyyyyyyyyyy more better.....I used the fry green plantain chips with fry fish...delicioso and jamaican picante (hot sauce) better mmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I think this should be revised to include the red wine ingrediant given by other reviewers. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I add a can of tomatoes instead of paste. I prefer the whole tomatoes; just add the entire can, juice and all. That is usually all the liquid required. If I don't have whole tomatoes, I just use what is in the pantry. Onions, peppers, lots of garlic and pepper --- yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Way too much bell pepper, it totally over powered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States