Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This has an unusual flavor, but I liked it. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
As a Cuban growing up eating this and making it the old school way with either a pressure cooker for the meat or boiling it for hours then shredding the meat by hand. (Tedious) I hated making this dish..but tossing it in the crockpot not only makes my life easier but the meat is juicier. The only thing about this recipe I don't add is the vinegar. I don't like the taste it gives the sauce..I instead use about 1/2 cup beef broth and 1 medium sized can tomato sauce instead of paste. I also add the traditional spices of any Cuban dish..cumin and oregano. But overall this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It made the house smell amazing. I was so excited to try it, but once I did, I really didn't care for the red wine vinegar taste of it. It seemed like it over powered the meat. My husband on the other hand LOVED it and told me I shouldn't change a thing. Even my picky eater 13 yr old daughter enjoyed it. I paired it with yellow rice. And it took longer to cook then the recipe said it would. I'm sure I will cook it again one day for them, but no time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this last night. So yummy!!! Husband and I both loved it. I didn't make any changes to the recipe at all. We only added a little more salt after the fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Wainwright Lipani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was really good, it smells salty while cooking but it really isn't. It has good flavor. I did add a little water while cooking because it looked like it was going to dry out/burn around the edges. I don't know how much of a difference it made. I put this over rice. I used the leftover rice and meat to make stuffed cabbage rolls. They were fantastic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe is basically "shredded Pot Roast", Not Ropa Vieja. Ropa vieja is always made with FLANK steak (which allows for the long 'ropes' of shredded meat, which resemble the 'old clothes' from which the name is derived. No proper Cuban restaurant in Miami or Victor's Café in NYC would use chuck pot roast; they use Angus Flank steak. It is fine for what it is, but this is not Ropa Vieja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
It wasn't very flavorful. I ended up adding cumin, coriander, and paprika which made it a lot better. I eventually added barbecue sauce and made a bbq sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was a nice change from pot roast, and I'm glad to have another recipe for the slow cooker. I followed the recipe very closely, only making one change: half red wine vinegar and half red wine, because I ran out of vinegar, lol! I recommend the full cooking time. I forgot to start it, so I did half on high and half on low, and it didn't really get tender. It was tasty, though, and I'm looking forward to the leftovers on a tortilla. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
VERY VERY Good. Don't neglect to make time to shred and place back in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States