Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Awesome! Made for my daughter who's been craving it for a while. She could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Valenciano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed the favors of the onions & peppers in the great tasting dish. Used over rice. May try egg noodles next time. Really make a great taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Am I blind? I don't see any water listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Nice recipe - but I added lots more garlic (our taste) and less tomato paste. The idea of adding veggies at the end is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
It was aiiiigght. It was tasty, but I thought it was very greasy and fatty. I used beef chuck as of the recipe called for, and I thought that made it very greasy. I don't know if I would have used a better cut of meat if it would been less greasy...? Like I said, it was tasty, but I just felt very guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This has an unusual flavor, but I liked it. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
As a Cuban growing up eating this and making it the old school way with either a pressure cooker for the meat or boiling it for hours then shredding the meat by hand. (Tedious) I hated making this dish..but tossing it in the crockpot not only makes my life easier but the meat is juicier. The only thing about this recipe I don't add is the vinegar. I don't like the taste it gives the sauce..I instead use about 1/2 cup beef broth and 1 medium sized can tomato sauce instead of paste. I also add the traditional spices of any Cuban dish..cumin and oregano. But overall this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It made the house smell amazing. I was so excited to try it, but once I did, I really didn't care for the red wine vinegar taste of it. It seemed like it over powered the meat. My husband on the other hand LOVED it and told me I shouldn't change a thing. Even my picky eater 13 yr old daughter enjoyed it. I paired it with yellow rice. And it took longer to cook then the recipe said it would. I'm sure I will cook it again one day for them, but no time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this last night. So yummy!!! Husband and I both loved it. I didn't make any changes to the recipe at all. We only added a little more salt after the fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Wainwright Lipani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was really good, it smells salty while cooking but it really isn't. It has good flavor. I did add a little water while cooking because it looked like it was going to dry out/burn around the edges. I don't know how much of a difference it made. I put this over rice. I used the leftover rice and meat to make stuffed cabbage rolls. They were fantastic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States