Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was fantastic! Kind of had a sweet flavor to it that was really nice. I served in tortillas and topped with shredded cheese, sliced avocado and sour cream. There was a lot of excess juice that I drained off at the end. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
very good; both in tacos and over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
So very yummy. Although, I did change very minor things due to nutritional and time reasons, this was the most awesomely tender roast ever!! I used a 1.5 lb sirloin tip roast(one that was actually larger, but I split since this only a family of 3) rather than the chuck, for the nutritional reasons. Since I didn't start this until 2pm, I set the crock to high for about 3.5 hrs, then cut it down to low for another hour before shredding. I did not use the green pepper(personal preference), plus used the yellow onion, since that is what I had on hand. Otherwise....superb. I served this on soft taco shells with sour cream, lettuce & cheese(which I had pico de gallo, though). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiken88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as written and thought it was very tasty. I served it with refried beans and brown rice. It made a very substantial and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was delicious. Couldn't find sweet onions, so I used two yellow onions. Also used a whole tin (5.5 oz) of tomato paste. Otherwise followed the recipe to a tee and will definitely make it again (and again, and again). It is quite meaty, so I may add another onion and some more peppers next time but it was definitely great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Super. I cooked it for about 9 hours, it was tender and the sauce was just delicious! Better ven the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent! So easy... followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of cooking just 15 minutes at the end instead of 30. Fabulous with rice and plantains... definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as shown. My family loved it. Would be great as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Careful not to overcook this or it will turn into mush. I learned this by mistake. Follow the directions and check on it often and it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States