Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good. Everyone loved it. I did add a cup of red wine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
It's missing something. I never have any luck when I put peppers in a slow cooker. It was in the slow cooker for 7.5 hrs and my peppers turned to mush and skins. If I ever make again maybe 6.5hrs is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was fantastic! Kind of had a sweet flavor to it that was really nice. I served in tortillas and topped with shredded cheese, sliced avocado and sour cream. There was a lot of excess juice that I drained off at the end. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
very good; both in tacos and over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
So very yummy. Although, I did change very minor things due to nutritional and time reasons, this was the most awesomely tender roast ever!! I used a 1.5 lb sirloin tip roast(one that was actually larger, but I split since this only a family of 3) rather than the chuck, for the nutritional reasons. Since I didn't start this until 2pm, I set the crock to high for about 3.5 hrs, then cut it down to low for another hour before shredding. I did not use the green pepper(personal preference), plus used the yellow onion, since that is what I had on hand. Otherwise....superb. I served this on soft taco shells with sour cream, lettuce & cheese(which I had pico de gallo, though). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiken88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as written and thought it was very tasty. I served it with refried beans and brown rice. It made a very substantial and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was delicious. Couldn't find sweet onions, so I used two yellow onions. Also used a whole tin (5.5 oz) of tomato paste. Otherwise followed the recipe to a tee and will definitely make it again (and again, and again). It is quite meaty, so I may add another onion and some more peppers next time but it was definitely great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Super. I cooked it for about 9 hours, it was tender and the sauce was just delicious! Better ven the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent! So easy... followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of cooking just 15 minutes at the end instead of 30. Fabulous with rice and plantains... definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States