Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
the house smelled wonderful for hours. Tender and tasted great. Didn't taste exactly like our favorite spanish restaurant, but still very good. Trying to figure out what was needed to match. Would try many times again. Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very very good. I made it like the original chef said to do it and it was really good. Actually the taste got even better the next day (not sure how that happened) it was a HUGE hit with my teens and my husband. Didnt change a thing and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of the overpowering tomato paste taste. I had to add a lot of extra seasonings to give it more flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I accidently bought chopped meat instead of a whole roast...shortened the cooking time and all was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This also turns out well if you need to cook it in the oven! I had defrosted the meat the night before, but forgot to put it in my slow cooker. I set my oven at 275 and let it cook for a little over 2 hours. It was delicious!! Very moist and tender. Keep in mind, every oven cooks differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fabulous! We ate this for 3 days with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was not impressed...but my husband was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collen comire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock Valley, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
¡Fácil y deliciosa! Will make AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Awesome! I read others' reviews and added 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar, 14 oz can of canned tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, a splash of red wine, garlic, a beef boullion cube,and minced garlic, four bell peppers and 2 chopped onions. served with the juice of 2 fresh squeezed limes,and added cilantro and avocado. The beef cooked on high for 6 hours and fell apart, barely had to pull to shred it, it was so tender! Thanks for a great, easy, homemade meal! Leftovers are also amazing, have made this three times before this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Daskal Aynessazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fine base recipe, but served as-is, definitely lacks a certain "zing." I always need to add extra vinegar, salt, and pepper before I serve it, and it still feels a bit bland to me. There's something missing, but I haven't quite put my finger on it yet....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States