Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of the overpowering tomato paste taste. I had to add a lot of extra seasonings to give it more flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I accidently bought chopped meat instead of a whole roast...shortened the cooking time and all was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This also turns out well if you need to cook it in the oven! I had defrosted the meat the night before, but forgot to put it in my slow cooker. I set my oven at 275 and let it cook for a little over 2 hours. It was delicious!! Very moist and tender. Keep in mind, every oven cooks differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fabulous! We ate this for 3 days with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was not impressed...but my husband was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccomire09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock Valley, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
¡Fácil y deliciosa! Will make AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Awesome! I read others' reviews and added 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar, 14 oz can of canned tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, a splash of red wine, garlic, a beef boullion cube,and minced garlic, four bell peppers and 2 chopped onions. served with the juice of 2 fresh squeezed limes,and added cilantro and avocado. The beef cooked on high for 6 hours and fell apart, barely had to pull to shred it, it was so tender! Thanks for a great, easy, homemade meal! Leftovers are also amazing, have made this three times before this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellybelly08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fine base recipe, but served as-is, definitely lacks a certain "zing." I always need to add extra vinegar, salt, and pepper before I serve it, and it still feels a bit bland to me. There's something missing, but I haven't quite put my finger on it yet....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
A bland for my taste. I have to admit I forgot the garlic and I know that would have added flavor but this recipe reminded me of a plain pot roast, bland! The taste of the chuck pot roast was so overwhelming and disappointing. A true ropa vieja should be made with a flank steak. Trust me, I was born and raised on ropa vieja growing up in Miami. Trying so many different versions, this recipe was missing something, not just the garlic ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I personally loved it but my husband thought it was a little sweet. He doesn't like any sweetness with his meats!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States