Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe is basically "shredded Pot Roast", Not Ropa Vieja. Ropa vieja is always made with FLANK steak (which allows for the long 'ropes' of shredded meat, which resemble the 'old clothes' from which the name is derived. No proper Cuban restaurant in Miami or Victor's Café in NYC would use chuck pot roast; they use Angus Flank steak. It is fine for what it is, but this is not Ropa Vieja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
It wasn't very flavorful. I ended up adding cumin, coriander, and paprika which made it a lot better. I eventually added barbecue sauce and made a bbq sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was a nice change from pot roast, and I'm glad to have another recipe for the slow cooker. I followed the recipe very closely, only making one change: half red wine vinegar and half red wine, because I ran out of vinegar, lol! I recommend the full cooking time. I forgot to start it, so I did half on high and half on low, and it didn't really get tender. It was tasty, though, and I'm looking forward to the leftovers on a tortilla. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
VERY VERY Good. Don't neglect to make time to shred and place back in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Super simple and super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rota, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was pretty tasty. I will be making it again but maybe adding some more heat. I made as directed and served over white rice. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Delicious! I also was apprehensive about such little liquid but it came out tender and so flavorful. I put it over brown rice and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Not one of my favorite tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K--

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States