Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome recipe! Like everyone else I made a few changes for convenience but I'm rating with the original recipes: using half fresh bell peppers and one bag of frozen bell peppers with onion (all fresh is expensive here!), adding 2 tablespoons of dry taco seasoning from the packet, 1 teaspoon each of cumin and oregano and upping the amount of salt to a full tablespoon. I also had 2.8 lbs of meat as that was the only portion available so please keep that in mind! We cooked it for 7 hours on low which kept the meat tender and seasoned without it becoming too soft. I served it on slices of thick bread with avocado slices and cilantro crema. Also used it in scrambled eggs the next morning with tortillas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Awesome! Made for my daughter who's been craving it for a while. She could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Valenciano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed the favors of the onions & peppers in the great tasting dish. Used over rice. May try egg noodles next time. Really make a great taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Am I blind? I don't see any water listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Nice recipe - but I added lots more garlic (our taste) and less tomato paste. The idea of adding veggies at the end is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
It was aiiiigght. It was tasty, but I thought it was very greasy and fatty. I used beef chuck as of the recipe called for, and I thought that made it very greasy. I don't know if I would have used a better cut of meat if it would been less greasy...? Like I said, it was tasty, but I just felt very guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This has an unusual flavor, but I liked it. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
As a Cuban growing up eating this and making it the old school way with either a pressure cooker for the meat or boiling it for hours then shredding the meat by hand. (Tedious) I hated making this dish..but tossing it in the crockpot not only makes my life easier but the meat is juicier. The only thing about this recipe I don't add is the vinegar. I don't like the taste it gives the sauce..I instead use about 1/2 cup beef broth and 1 medium sized can tomato sauce instead of paste. I also add the traditional spices of any Cuban dish..cumin and oregano. But overall this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It made the house smell amazing. I was so excited to try it, but once I did, I really didn't care for the red wine vinegar taste of it. It seemed like it over powered the meat. My husband on the other hand LOVED it and told me I shouldn't change a thing. Even my picky eater 13 yr old daughter enjoyed it. I paired it with yellow rice. And it took longer to cook then the recipe said it would. I'm sure I will cook it again one day for them, but no time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this last night. So yummy!!! Husband and I both loved it. I didn't make any changes to the recipe at all. We only added a little more salt after the fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Wainwright Lipani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States