Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I had many compliments on this recipe. I am trying my hand at Latino Recipes. I even had a close family friend say it was better then his Mexican family recipe. I felt very proud. (He made me promise not to tell his mother, lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabisme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I have to say, being Cuban and growing up with my Mother making this dish, I was not impressed. It lacked serious flavor, and the recipe was missing the green olives; so I added them in as well as some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was amazing!!!!! I tripled the recipe and it was delicious. I served it over egg noodles and also used it for tacos with coleslaw and tomatillo sauce! I couldn't stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome recipe! Like everyone else I made a few changes for convenience but I'm rating with the original recipes: using half fresh bell peppers and one bag of frozen bell peppers with onion (all fresh is expensive here!), adding 2 tablespoons of dry taco seasoning from the packet, 1 teaspoon each of cumin and oregano and upping the amount of salt to a full tablespoon. I also had 2.8 lbs of meat as that was the only portion available so please keep that in mind! We cooked it for 7 hours on low which kept the meat tender and seasoned without it becoming too soft. I served it on slices of thick bread with avocado slices and cilantro crema. Also used it in scrambled eggs the next morning with tortillas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Awesome! Made for my daughter who's been craving it for a while. She could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Valenciano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed the favors of the onions & peppers in the great tasting dish. Used over rice. May try egg noodles next time. Really make a great taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Am I blind? I don't see any water listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Nice recipe - but I added lots more garlic (our taste) and less tomato paste. The idea of adding veggies at the end is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
It was aiiiigght. It was tasty, but I thought it was very greasy and fatty. I used beef chuck as of the recipe called for, and I thought that made it very greasy. I don't know if I would have used a better cut of meat if it would been less greasy...? Like I said, it was tasty, but I just felt very guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This has an unusual flavor, but I liked it. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States