Ropa Vieja (Cuban Meat Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was delicious. My husband kept saying over and over again how this was one of the most delicious things he has ever tasted. That's huge coming from that man. I omitted the olives, but only because my family wouldn't have ate it if I did add them. However, I would have loved them in this dish. I added a lot more garlic then it called for and some more of the Adobo seasoning on the finished product. It was good before, but just a slight bland without a little more seasoning for my taste. The cooking time is perfect too. I used skirt steak that I sliced into strips. I let it simmer on low heat for 1.5 hours and the meat melted in your mouth. I served this on white rice and with some corn on the side. Don't let the list of ingredients scare you. It's not a hard dish to make at all! Plus I found all my Goya products at my local Krogers in the Hispanic aisle (although if you can find or make similar, you can substitute, but I LOVE Goya, so I don't).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made it tonight and it was really good! I started to worry that the olives and capers were overpowering the flavor but once I added the cilantro it evened out and was so tasteful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaqtjv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did not add the capers and I did not use all goya products for this recipe. But this recipe was great. Very flavorful. I love cilantro so I used a LOT of cilantro. It was very easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was time consuming but worth it! It smelled great and the meat was so tender and delicious! The only Goya ingredients I used were Adobo, Sazon, and capers. My can opener broke so I did could not use tomato sauce and subbed with ketchup instead. Also I used my own home-made sofrito (FIVEBRIGS recipe on this site). I did not have olives so omitted it. I know this is not traditional but I love potatoes and carrots with this beef so I added some diced pieces to the pot during last 30 min of cooking. Word of caution, braising the beef caused a lot of smoke and oil splatter. Not sure if this step is necessary. Also, if your pot gets black at the bottom like mine did after cooking the beef, deglaze with some wine or water and clean with a paper towel and you're in business again. I paired this with Puerto Rican steamed rice by FIVEBRIGS on this site. Also had the Goya frozen maduros but will make my own next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I was intimidated @ first with making this dish because my husbands mother is Honduran and makes it...So I felt under pressure to make it taste as good..My husband tasted it and said it was better than his mother's! I loved it. I left out the capers as well and used skirt steak...I also saw to late that the recipe called for minced garlic so i substituted 2 teaspoons garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Ropa Vieja Haiku: "Just finished a bowl. Big props to Goya's kitchen. They nailed this meat stew!" I actually had nearly all of the Goya products on hand, except I had several ice-cubes' worth of frozen homemade Sofrito that needed to be used. Left out the capers (can't stand 'em) and after browning the steak and sauteeing the veggies, I tossed everything in the crock-pot on low for 8 hrs. About half-way thru, I removed the steak and shredded it, and added a much heavier handful of cilantro (c'mon Goya - 1 TB??) prior to serving. My husband ate his (scooped w/ a slotted spoon) in a corn tortilla, while I ate mine slurpy-soupy-style. The flavor isn't intense, but it's unusual enough that I would definitely make this again, although I think next time, I would consider adding some sweet potatoes, or some kind of additional veggie for more stew-ey substance, along w/ a diced chipotle or jalapeno for a little blaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Loved it! This was a great recipe! Good for a crockpot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aarista
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've had ropa viega before and this was way better. I was a little skectical of using 3C water so I added 2 and when I lifted the cover to the pot, there was still a lot of liquid left. So during the last half hour as I was shredding the beef, I let the sauce simmer to thicken up and gain flavor (I didnt want a soupy texture) and it came out great. I also used a large beef broth goya cube. AND BTW, this recipe doesnt mention which sofrito to use. Theres a cilantro based and a tomato based. I used a little bit of both but since there was already a tomato flavor from the tomato sauce, the cilantro is fine since you should add some fresh cilantro anyway at the end. *Attached a pic 12/26/11*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this for the first time. I made it with a little over 2lb pot roast. Luke other reviews I didn't use all Goya products since I live down in south Texas and sometimes its hard to find some products. I had to make home made sofrito since I couldn't find it. I added extra garluc and sauted it with the onoins and bell peppers. I also added a whole bunch of cilantro since it does give it more flavor to the meal. My husband said it passed the test since he knows what this meal is suppose to taste like. It was a hit at my house, served it with white rice, black beans, and plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe!!!! It reminded me of the Cuban restaurant I went to in Miami. I didn't put the olives or capers in the recipe, but followed everything else in it. I even used the leftovers for tacos a few days later, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States