Ropa Vieja (Cuban Meat Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I was intimidated @ first with making this dish because my husbands mother is Honduran and makes it...So I felt under pressure to make it taste as good..My husband tasted it and said it was better than his mother's! I loved it. I left out the capers as well and used skirt steak...I also saw to late that the recipe called for minced garlic so i substituted 2 teaspoons garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was time consuming but worth it! It smelled great and the meat was so tender and delicious! The only Goya ingredients I used were Adobo, Sazon, and capers. My can opener broke so I did could not use tomato sauce and subbed with ketchup instead. Also I used my own home-made sofrito (FIVEBRIGS recipe on this site). I did not have olives so omitted it. I know this is not traditional but I love potatoes and carrots with this beef so I added some diced pieces to the pot during last 30 min of cooking. Word of caution, braising the beef caused a lot of smoke and oil splatter. Not sure if this step is necessary. Also, if your pot gets black at the bottom like mine did after cooking the beef, deglaze with some wine or water and clean with a paper towel and you're in business again. I paired this with Puerto Rican steamed rice by FIVEBRIGS on this site. Also had the Goya frozen maduros but will make my own next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did not add the capers and I did not use all goya products for this recipe. But this recipe was great. Very flavorful. I love cilantro so I used a LOT of cilantro. It was very easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made it tonight and it was really good! I started to worry that the olives and capers were overpowering the flavor but once I added the cilantro it evened out and was so tasteful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaqtjv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Ropa Vieja Haiku: "Just finished a bowl. Big props to Goya's kitchen. They nailed this meat stew!" I actually had nearly all of the Goya products on hand, except I had several ice-cubes' worth of frozen homemade Sofrito that needed to be used. Left out the capers (can't stand 'em) and after browning the steak and sauteeing the veggies, I tossed everything in the crock-pot on low for 8 hrs. About half-way thru, I removed the steak and shredded it, and added a much heavier handful of cilantro (c'mon Goya - 1 TB??) prior to serving. My husband ate his (scooped w/ a slotted spoon) in a corn tortilla, while I ate mine slurpy-soupy-style. The flavor isn't intense, but it's unusual enough that I would definitely make this again, although I think next time, I would consider adding some sweet potatoes, or some kind of additional veggie for more stew-ey substance, along w/ a diced chipotle or jalapeno for a little blaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by aarista
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've had ropa viega before and this was way better. I was a little skectical of using 3C water so I added 2 and when I lifted the cover to the pot, there was still a lot of liquid left. So during the last half hour as I was shredding the beef, I let the sauce simmer to thicken up and gain flavor (I didnt want a soupy texture) and it came out great. I also used a large beef broth goya cube. AND BTW, this recipe doesnt mention which sofrito to use. Theres a cilantro based and a tomato based. I used a little bit of both but since there was already a tomato flavor from the tomato sauce, the cilantro is fine since you should add some fresh cilantro anyway at the end. *Attached a pic 12/26/11*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Goya, you never cease to amaze me! I had no idea what to expect from this recipe since I had never had Ropa Vieja before, but I can see making this over and over again! It is so full of flavor. I wouldn't change a thing. I made the recipe exactly as written and I'd recommend not omitting the olives or capers, unless you're totally opposed to them or deathly afraid. They really make the dish! I didn't have to add any seasonings at the end, the flavor was just perfect. If you're thinking the consistency looks too thin, waiting until you shred the meat...that really thickens it up. The house smelled amazing while this was cooking. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was delicious. My husband kept saying over and over again how this was one of the most delicious things he has ever tasted. That's huge coming from that man. I omitted the olives, but only because my family wouldn't have ate it if I did add them. However, I would have loved them in this dish. I added a lot more garlic then it called for and some more of the Adobo seasoning on the finished product. It was good before, but just a slight bland without a little more seasoning for my taste. The cooking time is perfect too. I used skirt steak that I sliced into strips. I let it simmer on low heat for 1.5 hours and the meat melted in your mouth. I served this on white rice and with some corn on the side. Don't let the list of ingredients scare you. It's not a hard dish to make at all! Plus I found all my Goya products at my local Krogers in the Hispanic aisle (although if you can find or make similar, you can substitute, but I LOVE Goya, so I don't).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I could not find sofrito, so I made some using a recipe on this site, otherwise, followed the recipe. One thing that I did change was the amount of water. It calls for 3 cups (not in the ingredient listing) which I felt was going to be excessive, so I used 2 cups, which turned out to be just about right. Wonderful, full-bodied flavors in this stew with fork-tender beef. Served with Goya's recipe for Black Beans & Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Loved it! This was a great recipe! Good for a crockpot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States