Root Vegetable Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was really delicious! I left out the potatoes because I was also serving garlic mashed. My supermarket didn't have jicama. I substituted fennel. It was amazing, a great complement to roast lamb for Easter dinner. The fresh rosemary is very important, don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
very good.I cut the salt back to 1 tsp though...1 TB of salt is a lot and need to keep things healthier for hubby with high blood pressure. For personal reasons I cut the rosemary in half because I do like it in moderation but am not fond of a strong rosemary flavor. Gets a 4 due to seasoning changes. For me it has to be perfect as written to get a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Perfect as is! Everyone LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe is amazing, it will surprise you! My husband was skeptical (to say the least) when he saw me cutting up all the root vegetables. I followed the recipe exactly, my husband and I were astounded at how good this turned out. I cut the jicama and turnip into med-small chunks, about thumb size, to help them bake easier. I baked my vegetables in an 11x15 pan for about 70 minutes and stirred them several times while they baked. The vegetables became sweet and slightly caramelized, so good! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had received some fresh root veggies in a local produce box I ordered, and decided to use them in this recipe. I did not have jicama, so I replaced it with fennel as another reviewer suggested. I used fresh rosemary and thyme from my herb garden- about 2 Tbsp each. I used a little less olive oil and salt than called for in the recipe, simply based on my personal tastes. Save for those slight adjustments, I stayed true to the recipe and really loved it. Everyone did! The veggies get that sweet, caramelized flavor when they're roasted. Just delicious. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
OH YUM! I used the root vegetables that I had on hand so I did not use jicama or turnips. Doubled up the others. Used about 4 Tablespoons of olive oil and a Tablespoon of fresh snipped rosemary. Perfect and simple and I will make this again & again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was okay. Won't likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I chop my veggies & put them in a large bowl. Mix sesonings & oil then pour it over veggies & mix well. Put them in a foil lined pan for easy clean up. Also check fridge for veggies that might be ready for veggie heaven. Chop them & add to mix. I like this with smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Have made this root roast for years...I also add fennel and butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Delicious. I bake mine longer and prefer to steam my carrots a bit prior to roasting as I don't want them to be hard. Beets make a nice addition. I always add some onion too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States