Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I will agree somewhat with WERFLY. This was written toward my some of my families tastebuds (which can be a little wimpy at times). That's the one I submitted. I prefer it marinated all day with the rootbeer and a tablespoon of worchestershire, heavily salted/peppered prior to grilling. 2 teaspoons chipotle sauce and I also use Campbells 2x strength beef broth to start for this. The reduction down to 3/4 cup is approximate (I tend not to measure things-rather go by taste), it should be pretty potent and salty sweet. Remember, you have to taste everything and make sure to adjust seasoning to your families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I let the chops sit in the root beer for about 6 hours. WARNING- Do not make if you don't love good food! EDIT- I thought I should add I let the chops marinate for 6 hours because that is the amount of time I had. Defintely will do it for longer next time. Also, I used a charcoal grill, which lends a nice flavor in my opinion. In addition, my pepper mill is filled with a combo of black, white and red pepper corns, which is a wonderful combo that adds another flavor dynamic. Finally, I used habanero hot sauce (Big Ben's BBQ brand- which I highly recommend), instead of chipotle flavored. Very tasty. A tip of my hat to you Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Because it's unbelieveably cold out, I can't grill these like I would have liked. So....what I did was combine all the ingredients (with a couple tablespoons of cornstarch wisked in), braised my pork chops and stuck everything in the crockpot. Only change I made was adding in some sliced onions and minced garlic that I sauteed in the pan that I braised the pork chops in. I didn't need the extra salt as my beef broth and the worchestershire was salty enough on it's own. This made for some very tasty and moist pork chops but it needs a little something else. I can't put my finger on it. Maybe a tablespoon of dijon? A bay leaf? I liked the combination of the root beer and beef broth, it was sweet and beefy all at the same time.....it's just missing just a little somethin'-somethin'. This went really well with mashed potatoes. NOTE: I also used Campbell's beef broth only because it's double strength and has a stronger flavor than your usual boxed broth. I used a quality root beer, too. I think that makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
After talking to Ken about my experience with this recipe, I decided on reviewing it two ways. First of all, as written, while still producing a tender finished dish, I give it a 4, for the fact that, even beyond "personal taste", I think this would be a bit bland, but with SO much potential. That said, it turns into an easy 5 star with Ken's changes, which he states in his review. So, I added more chipotle hot sauce, a fair bit of black pepper, more Worcestershire sauce, and I did marinate the chops in all of those ingredients, not just the root beer. Followed the rest of the recipe as stated. We used Barq's root beer because we much prefer the "bite" to it, as opposed to a sweeter one. I would do it all the same next time, other than omitting the brown sugar, but, again, that's only a personal taste in not liking things as sweet as some, do. That does NOT lower my rating. :) Thank you, Ken, for the addition and the clarifying review. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
WOW, that was unexpectedly soooo good. My husband doesn't really love porkchops but he said he would have liked a big pile of them. I told him there was a secret ingredient (RB) and he forbid me to tell him because they were so good. I followed the recipe exactly (except I didn't have hot sauce) and they were wonderful. A++ and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I really wanted to love this recipe. I love root beer and I'm always looking for new ways to do pork chops. I followed the recipe exactly - marinating in the root beer and then using fresh root beer to combine with the other ingredients and reducing the liquid down to 3/4 cup and using it as a 'glaze' while grilling. The end result was -- ok. The chops were a little on the sweet side - but that's really all there was. It seemed like a lot of effort for only an 'ok' end result. For us, they were average - not bad - but not particularly special. **8/23/2010 update - I used the leftovers from this in the Pork Salad Croissant recipe from this site. The leftovers worked GREAT in this salad. The sweetness of the root beer was a nice complement to the spice of the chutney in the recipe and worked well with the apple and grape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
A keeper! My husband and I made this for my mother visiting from out of state. I did use a tsp of the chipotle tabasco sauce and I still felt it could have used a little more kick but my Mom thought it was perfect as I had made it, a good balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qween of My Destiny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I'd printed this recipe off and gave it to my dad for him to make sometime (I'm not big on grilling, myself) and he finally got around to it tonight. It was a winner! We all ate it and enjoyed it. My dad said it took more work than he usually likes to put into cooking supper, but I consider that a good thing - much better than a bottled sauce or marinade. Thanks for the great recipe Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made as written with Ken's changes (see Feb. 20/10 review), My only regret was I didn't marinate the chops longer. The reduction is delicious. A new twist for grilled pork chops. Next time I plan on dividing the sauce - some for basting and thickening the rest with a bit of cornstarch to make a gravy. Thanks Ken. terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This makes for the tastiest chops! I only added a squirt of orange just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States