Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Luloo
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was great! I prepared it exactly as the recipe states (which is difficult for me, since I always want to change someting). The only thing I would have liked is the glaze to be a little thicker with the reduction. My husband who usually only loves breaded chops actually enjoyed these! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Ok, these were pretty good, but not "out of this world" good. Having said this, my hubs accepts full responsibility for the outcome of our dinner (he is the Grill Master at our house). :) My biggest gripe is simple.... Our pork chops were DRY! Either Ken's cooking directions (i.e. timing) are off or our grill was too hot. It could also be the cut of meat we purchased (center cut chops), but I'm leaning toward operator error lol. Another, albeit minor gripe is that I tasted very little of the glaze. I even chose Barq's root beer because of its spicy bite. I'm not sure If most of it cooked off or if my hubs forgot to slather what was left on each chop before serving. It's a real shame tho because the glaze was AWESOME!!! as Ken suggested, I upped the chipotle hot sauce to 2 t and used 2x concentrated (Campbell's) broth. If the marinade weren't so darn hot (whoa Ken!), I would have drank it all! :) in retrospect, i think a t of chipotle sauce would have been spot on. NOTE: I thought the glaze was supposed to thicken, but it didn't (don't be alarmed). Even tho it's thin, it coats really well. I just need to figure out how to do a better job of ensuring that it does its magic on the grill! Served with baked potatoes and fresh corn on the cobb, this was a satisfying summer meal. Thanks for sharing, Ken in CA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very good for a quick and easy dinner. Served with a side of baked bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I thought this was a weird combo to start with but thought we would give it a try but it just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Didn't turn out well for us at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This came out delicious, just sweet enough, with a wonderful flavor. My only problem was my inability to get the sauce to thicken up. I still used it, it was just a little thin. Overall nice recipe, next time I might add some cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
We thought that the pork had a strange after taste and it did not take on the flavor of the root beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
followed other's suggestions and marinated extra time (about 8 hrs.). Not bad, but not great either...tender, but not terribly flavorful - will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
The glaze turned out good but I agree with another who said it didn't glaze the chop well. The chop was bland with just a hint of root beer flavor. Had I known I would have saved some, if not most, of the glaze for dipping the end product, kind of like an au jus. Or thicken it and use as a sauce. Preparing it as written was a big waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The reduced sauce had a good flavor but we thought it needed something so we added six drops of hot sauce and a tablespoon of datil pepper vinegar which gave it more zing. Still the sauce was thin and didn't glaze the chops very well. For all the time and work stirring to reduce the sauce, the results were lackluster. I ended up eating mine with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States