Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Oh YEAH. Seasoned the chops with a salt-free seasoning blend before soaking in the root beer. Reduced the root beer from the marinade along with the extra, used 1 beef boullion cube and "red hot" sauce (no chipotle), brown sugar, and the worcestershire. Had to strain out some solids and reduced it down to about a 1/4C (for 4 chops), so it took a while, but the reduction syrup was worth it. Peppered the chops and lightly salted with seasoned salt before grilling on the Foreman. Yum, Yum YUM. Great way to use up some root beer that had went flat. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was really good. My husband couldn't get enough and my kids happily ate theirs. Very good as is, or with bbq as a dip. I put my chops in a plastic container and poured enough root beer from a 2L to cover them. For the sauce I used 12oz of the root beer from the chops. I didn't measure the worcestershire or hot sauce. After simmering for a while I strained the cooked bit of blood out of it and then simmered some more. I used steak seasoning instead of regular s&p and grilled the chops. Once they were mostly done I dunked them into the pan of reduced liquid. Cooked hte rest of the way and dunked again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Bought 2L bottle (cheaper) . Marinate with root beer, remaining beef broth, and Worcestershire. Sauce - added more beef boullean (1tsp?), deleted brown sugar, added a bit of tobacco to hot sauce, a pinch of cayenne pepper, 1 tblsp Worcestershire (takes about 30-40 min to reduce to about 3/4 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We added a tsp. of dijon mustard to the sauce which made it much less cloying and actually much more tasty. We found it way too sweet. The mustard helped a great deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriTheDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beacon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this twice with tenderloin rather than chops. First time per the recipe and it was good. The second time I added a shot of Worcestershire, a chopped chipotle and ground pepper to the marinade which stayed in the bag for 8 hours. Using my favorite go to, Tuong Ot Sriracha chili sauce in the glaze rather than chipotle, I reduced it to 1/4 and brushed it on the last 5 minutes of grill time and on the final 1 inch slices when plated. Wow! This it's a keeper now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
As other reviewers have said...SO wanted to like this recipe. Everybody loves root beer, right? The biggest problem I had was that the reduction sauce did not reduce. I was expecting a thick, sweet, almost bbq-y consistency but mine was all liquid despite simmering it for over half an hour. So in essence we had no sauce. Not sure what happened but that is 3 cans of root beer I will never get back! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECINC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
As another said, I too wanted to like this recipe, but found it a lacking ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
These were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was okay. I marinated the chops all day in the root beer, but in the end, I thought they would have a lot more flavor. They has a slight root beer taste, but not much else. It did make the chops very juicy, so that was a plus, but I felt like there was more I had expected out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These were pretty good. There was a lot of different flavors in there and for that, we decided we'd make them again. The problem is we had to make them in the oven instead of grill due to the MN winter. We'll try to grill them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMBreen95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States