Root Beer Float Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was pretty good, very creamy. It really does taste just like a root beer float. I think that I'll try some with root beer (instead of vanilla ice cream) for a double wammy root beer float!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was the first recipe I've tried for homemade ice cream, and I liked the taste ok, but it was way too rich(even the kids thought so). I made it again with less cream and more milk and it was much better! Of the seven people in my house who tried it, 4 loved it, 2 not so much, and my husband said it tasted like Pepto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I served this to my friends and they all raved about it. It's great and really easy to make. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
While not as creamy as ice cream made with a cooked custard,this is still pretty darn good and couldn't be easier. I used 2 c. heavy cream and 1 c. half and half as I wanted a bit richer and smoother final result. After tasting the mixture I felt it needed another 1/2 tsp. of root beer extract (I used Watkins) and it was perfect. However, this may or not be the case with other brands of root beer extract or root beer concentrate such as McCormick's, so taste first. It DOES taste like a root beer float!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We liked it a lot. Tastes a lot like Schwans root beer float.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was excellent! Tastes just like root beer floats. Next time, I will add a tiny bit more root beer extract, but other than that it is perfect-thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymakes5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Sooo good! My son loves root beer popsicles with ice cream in the middle, and sure enough he couldn't get enough of this. I added 1 1/2 tsp of root beer concentrate though. Definitely made it more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I am making this as we speak and it is gorgeous! As I live in a country where root beer is non-existant I have to rely on the good, kind nature of my family to send me root beer extract. And if this is the only way to get my root beer fix I don't mind at all! It does taste exactly how a rootbeer float should taste. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
EXACTLY like a root beer float! I made no changes to the recipe. While making it I wondered why vanilla extract was being used and not just root beer. Now I know. The vanilla extract gives it that vanilla ice cream in the root beer flavor. I will surely make this when the grandchildren are coming. Root beer has always been one of their favorite flavors. This recipe sure brings back memories of the soda fountain days. Thanks Grace Gutberlet for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I love Root Beer Floats! I usually only have them on occasions but these i have all the time! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv_2_Cook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States