Root Beer Float Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
As is, it's four stars. Only because it's not very root beer-y in flavor. The first time I saw this recipe was in a Supermoist cake recipe book and I made it according to recipe, even with the crushed root beer barrels on top. Today, when I made it, I added about a tsp. and a half of root beer flavoring concentrate and I made a Cool Whip Topping (1 container Cool Whip, 1 small box instant pudding, 1 c. milk and one tsp. of vanilla flavoring). This time, it was much more float-like and really incredible. Consider my changes if you decide to make this cake. This cake is a real crowd pleaser. The smell of this cake while it's baking is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I make this cake all the time! For best results, I let the frosted cake sit in the refrigerator overnight for the root beer flavor to get stronger. I also add 1/4 teaspoon root beer extract to the cake mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made cupcakes with this recipe and took it to a Father's Day cookout. After reading the reviews, I decided to add the rootbeer concentrate (all I could find at the store. Is it the same as extract?)to the batter. The long mixing time made these light and airy. I also made the Cool Whip/vanilla pudding frosting and added a little rootbeer concentrate to that too. Crushed rootbeer barrels on top were great, but don't add them too early before serving because they kind of melt in the topping. I was told that I had to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I must preface my review by stating I did change the recipe out of necessity. However, I like that it shows how versatile the recipe is so I'm rating it anyway. I planned to make 1/2 a batch w/a box white cake mix, using the other 1/2 for Jello Shot cupcakes, so I made the mix according to box directions. Too late, i realized I was supposed to use root beer in place of water. I decided to go ahead and make them anyway, and simple subbed 3 tsps of root beer extract to a regularly prepared white box cake mix and it worked out great! I already had some butter cream frozen, so I simply used that (Butter Cream II from here) w/Root Beer Extract added for flavor. These are a nice change of pace from *regular* cupcakes and I'll DEF make again (I can't wait to make them in MUGS!). TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
With some modifications this is a 5 star. I made cake as is, but added 1 1/2 tsp. root beer concentrate to the cake mix. I used heavy whipping cream instead of the boxed stuff and added powdered sugar, vanilla extract and root beer concentrate. Using fresh whipped cream is way better than the boxed stuff. The root beer tast is there but subtle. I used 2 9" round pans put the whipped cream in the middle and frosted the cake with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This is truly one of the very best and very easiest cakes I have ever made. It's so different! Everyone that has tried it has absolutely loved it. I'm making it tonight, and think I will try adding the root beer extract to strenghten the root beer flavor a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a quick recipe but I was looking for something more. I tweaked the recipe by adding 2tsp. of Rootbeer Concentrate. I think a vanilla buttercream frosting will work with my 2nd attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The cake was ok but will follow the advice of others next time and use some root beer flavour as without it I couldn't even taste the root beer in the cake at all. Did not like the frosting at all. Next time I think I will just make my own frosting and add some root beer extract to that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are perfect with these changes...2 tsp root beer extract and I just used a plain cool whip frosting. This was just the right amount of root beer flavor and so it wasn't even needed in the topping. Thanks for the reviews...and of course thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this tonight and everyone loved it. I will make this again. My oldest son wants this cake for his birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States