Root Beer Float Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made cupcakes with this recipe and took it to a Father's Day cookout. After reading the reviews, I decided to add the rootbeer concentrate (all I could find at the store. Is it the same as extract?)to the batter. The long mixing time made these light and airy. I also made the Cool Whip/vanilla pudding frosting and added a little rootbeer concentrate to that too. Crushed rootbeer barrels on top were great, but don't add them too early before serving because they kind of melt in the topping. I was told that I had to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Because other reviewers had suggested adding root beer concentrate or extract, I planned to do that. However, as I was making the cake I discovered mine had dried up. I made the cake as the recipe states, but decided to alter the frosting. I used Cool Whipped Frosting and prepared it as directed. However, I took about 1/3 of the frosting and added 2 tsp. of root beer extract that I'd gone out and bought. I spread this evenly over the cake then topped it with the remainder of the frosting. This added the more intense root beer flavor that the cake needed, while still keeping the white "float" concept of the frosting, and the brown layer between the cake and white frosting looked nice. It worked so well I think I would do it the same way if I made the cake again. Nine people ate and loved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I must preface my review by stating I did change the recipe out of necessity. However, I like that it shows how versatile the recipe is so I'm rating it anyway. I planned to make 1/2 a batch w/a box white cake mix, using the other 1/2 for Jello Shot cupcakes, so I made the mix according to box directions. Too late, i realized I was supposed to use root beer in place of water. I decided to go ahead and make them anyway, and simple subbed 3 tsps of root beer extract to a regularly prepared white box cake mix and it worked out great! I already had some butter cream frozen, so I simply used that (Butter Cream II from here) w/Root Beer Extract added for flavor. These are a nice change of pace from *regular* cupcakes and I'll DEF make again (I can't wait to make them in MUGS!). TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made this cake as submitted, and it was good, but made it again adding 2 tsp root beer concentrate, and it was AWESOME. I also made the topping with a container of coolwhip, a small box of vanilla pudding, a cup of milk, and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are perfect with these changes...2 tsp root beer extract and I just used a plain cool whip frosting. This was just the right amount of root beer flavor and so it wasn't even needed in the topping. Thanks for the reviews...and of course thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
With some modifications this is a 5 star. I made cake as is, but added 1 1/2 tsp. root beer concentrate to the cake mix. I used heavy whipping cream instead of the boxed stuff and added powdered sugar, vanilla extract and root beer concentrate. Using fresh whipped cream is way better than the boxed stuff. The root beer tast is there but subtle. I used 2 9" round pans put the whipped cream in the middle and frosted the cake with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this for my brother's birthday and he said this is now his Favorite cake! :D I bought root beer extract and FORGOT to put it in!! :) It was still great, but next time I am going to add it in because it was a subtle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were unique. I'm definately going to make them again and use the root beer extract everyone else is talking about. I couldn't find it the day I needed it, but I will hunt it down for the next time. I made them for my 2 daughter's birthday party and everyone thought it was great that they were eating rootbeer cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
As is, it's four stars. Only because it's not very root beer-y in flavor. The first time I saw this recipe was in a Supermoist cake recipe book and I made it according to recipe, even with the crushed root beer barrels on top. Today, when I made it, I added about a tsp. and a half of root beer flavoring concentrate and I made a Cool Whip Topping (1 container Cool Whip, 1 small box instant pudding, 1 c. milk and one tsp. of vanilla flavoring). This time, it was much more float-like and really incredible. Consider my changes if you decide to make this cake. This cake is a real crowd pleaser. The smell of this cake while it's baking is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
this cake was different and delicious. i made it for my dad's bday, he loves trying different things,and anything rootbeer. i kicked up the rootbeer flavor w/ some extract and it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States