Root Beer Float Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I have made this several times and unless you add a lot of root beer extract, it doesn't taste like root beer. I use cool whip on top with A&W sundae topper. It is a really good summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEXYTRACKR
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Was a very moist cake. Will add Root Beer extract next time for more Root Beer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I made this cake. I was glad I read the reviews first. It definately need more rootbeer extract in both the cake and frosting to give it flavor. I would probably not make it again. It didn't go over very well at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I really liked this cake, however I think that dream whip (the whipped topping mix I used) sets up much better when you use milk (as called for on the packet). Made with the root beer it just, well, deflated. Next time I would follow the recipe exactly, except use milk in place of root beer in the frosting mix and add a teaspoon of root beer extract, instead of root beer in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Followed recipe but added rootbeer extract, as recommended by others. Thank goodness, or there would be zero flavour. I also found them a little dry, but maybe that's just me. I think it's the novelty of the flavour that's more exciting than the actual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillsicle05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. J. Gilmour
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I doubled the recipe for 44 cupcakes and added 3 tsp root beer concentrate, but would have added more if I did it again. I could not find the extract ANYWHERE near me (Kroger, Whole Foods, Target, Hobby Lobby), but found the concentrate at a Super WalMart. This has a very bland root beer flavor, a strong root beer scent. I added root beer concentrate to a buttercream frosting and that made the flavor better. Great idea, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The cupcakes tasted good but they were VERY difficult to take out of the pan because they were so sticky and fragile. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good cupcakes, we weren't crazy about the frosting, maybe next time I will try whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I did have to do a little bit of tweaking like some others did. I added root beer extract to the cake mix, about 3/4 teaspoon. And I used the freezer whip cream, I added about 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the whip cream to give it more of a root beer float foam flavor. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Best way to describe this recipe is bland and nothing special. It was one of 3 cakes I made to bring to a party. The other 2 everyone loved but this cake only had a few pieces gone by the end of the night. Saw a couple of those pieces in the garbage still on their plates. That says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States