Root Beer Float Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Made for MIL's birthday, who loves Root Beer -- this was very good and well-received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I wanted a true flavor and I got it with a few tweaks to this recipe. I used BC Moist White Cake mix and added two teaspoons of Root Beer flavoring and combined two Root Beers ... A&W and Barq's to make up the flavor I wanted. I also dropped a touch (1 tsp) of Root Beer soda flavoring into the cake mix to color the batter and the cupcakes came out with the best flavor and color of any of the RB recipes I tried. Normally the first batch I make cooks slightly smaller than the second, but in this case, they cooked exactly the same. I will definitely be making this recipe again and again. Thank You Tammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
It turned out very good, but I only gave it 3 stars because I made 2 changes. I made as is, but when it was done I poked holes in the cake and poured a mixture of 1 cup powered sugar to 1/2 cup of root beer(maybe it was a little more root beer I just eye balled it) over the top. I made my frosting with 1 box instant vanilla pudding mixed with 1 cup milk then folded in 1 tub of cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made these as cupcakes and they were very delicious and so easy to make. I added 2 tsp. root beer concentrate as other reviewers suggested, but it still didn't taste very much like root beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lost1o4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were a fresh idea that my boyfriend loved! I followed the advice of adding root beer extract to both the cake and the frosting. But I got a little carried away with it because the root beer taste was over bearing. I added mayonnaise to the batter to make them more moist and made my own frosting of whipped cream, powdered sugar and cream cheese along with the root beer and extract. I colored them green for St Patty's which threw everyone off of what flavor they were. They tasted good if you knew it was root beer float flavor...quite the brain teaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This cake was just average, and I probably won't make it again. It just a hint of root beer flavor that was good for a change. I did like the icing though and think it would be good with different flavors of soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
AMAZING!! My only word of advice if you make them into cupcakes and fost them with by piping then you will need to double the frosting. I ran out and I was going easy thinking this might happen. But the flavor is just like a root beer float! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I really liked the idea of this cake, which I ended up making into cupcakes for my kids, who love root beer. The cupcakes were great, but that's because they don't really taste like root beer. The frosting came together very nicely, but we felt the root beer flavor was too strong in that. The two just didn't complement each other. I think we would have eaten the cupcakes if they had a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The cake was ok but will follow the advice of others next time and use some root beer flavour as without it I couldn't even taste the root beer in the cake at all. Did not like the frosting at all. Next time I think I will just make my own frosting and add some root beer extract to that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was very good!! I will make it again for sure! I only gave it 4 stars because I added root beer extract as recommended and am glad I did. It would not have had enough flavour without it. I made icing using Nutriwhip (1 c with 1 c brown sugar and 1 tsp flavouring) and used the root beer extract rather than vanilla. Delicious!! Some mentioned the cake was dry. 4 min seems a long time to beat it. That did make it fluffy but maybe beating about 2 min after blending would make it more moist. Anyway it is, I like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States