Root Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
These cookies where so good! But i could not make the topping very good, can some one let me know how to do it?! It came out in chunks of sugar not a good toping! Thanx for some help for who ever lets me know! Well made these so meny more times and they are great without the glaze. My family loves them & same with our childs friends. Always bine asked to keep making more. My stars for this recipe have changed concidering the cookies are so easy to make and I add more rootbeer to these instead of a little. I add about 3 tbsp of rootbeer syrup because i can't find the extract any where. YUMMY thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Poirier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Pretty much made this cookie exactly as written. didn't have buttermilk so I used sour cream and it worked wonderfully. For those people who said their dough wouldn't set up perhaps the buttermilk is a bit too runny. I did cook them for 11 minutes as 8 was not long enough. Made the icing as stated and dipped my hot cookies into it. Also I read some people used rootbeer syrup as they couldn't find the extract. If you don't have the extract don't make the cookie as it is the key ingredient. I purchased mine through Watkins so if you know of any one that sells Watkins they will be able to get it for you. Excellent cookie overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Keim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I loved these. I used sour milk (1tsp. vinegar to 1/4 cup milk--let sit for five minutes) instead of buttermilk. Cream together the butter and sugar. I also used Zatarain's root beer concentrate (usually used to make home made root beer soda) for the flavoring. The Zatarain's will give you a little more color in the cookie and glaze. (In fact, the photo used here is way off, the glaze should be a light tan, at its darkest.) Have since used both the concentrate and regular root beer extract, and I can say honestly that both of them work fine. My cookies were not flat at all, they came out with a nice puff to them. The frosting is delicious and it is definitely a frosting, not a glaze. Also, wait until the cookies have cooled a bit BEFORE you frost them....they should be warm to the touch, NOT hot out of the oven. Let them cool at least 5 minutes on a cooling rack. They should be the temperature that you would want to eat a cookie "warm from the oven". My daughter took a bunch of them to school and the kids loved them. Tasty and different cookie--will be making many more times. **Watkins makes root beer extract as does McCormick. Can also be found on amazon.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
these were amazing. Everyone who tried them liked them. I added a sprinkle of baking powder because of all the reviews that said they went flat. Used root beer concentrate in the same amount listed for extract except I added a little more because some reviewers said that they didn't taste like rootbeer. I skipped the glaze because I was afraid of the butter flavor. I used a homemade cream cheese frosting recipe from the website and added root beer concentrate. They stayed soft and moist for days. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My root beer loving family adored these. They were nice and soft and had a great flavor. I would suggest doubling this recipe if you're serving more than four people. I think I'll try them this summer and make ice cream sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Unique cookies packed with flavor! A slightly easier recipe (without buttermilk) for this would be to use a box of white or yellow cake mix, 2 eggs, and 1/2 cup of oil and add a couple tsp. of root beer extract and use powdered sugar, milk, and extract for glaze with vanilla optional. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I love these cookies! My kids, notsomuch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Nice and easy cookies. Great root beer flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDiMaria
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My husband requested these when he came across them on Pinterest. We both really enjoyed them and I'm not a huge Root Beer fan. The only problem I had is that the recipe is definitely more of a guideline. Use your judgement if you're an experienced baker. The batter is too runny for cookies so I used more flour than called for and they had to be baked in my oven for double the amount of time called for. I read the reviews before trying and I definitely like the icing idea better than a glaze so I let the cookies cool and then frosted them. I saved the extra icing and froze it since my cookies were small and didn't need a lot. The flavor isn't incredibly intense and I would definitely recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made these cookies to take to my weekly bowling league and didn't want to frost them as that makes them more difficult to pack to travel, so I added another 1 1/2 teaspoons root beer extract to the batter (that would have gone into the glaze) and added a package of white chocolate chips. YUM!! They tasted like a root beer float! Everyone went crazy over them!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States